Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Nutella Banana Bread (GF, Optional lactose free)

nutellabananabread

Hello, hello, hello!

Phew! Another fortnight has come and gone in a whirlwind! I’ve been up to quite a lot, and am still very busy! Even more so with some added car drama! And due to these time constraints I really haven’t had the chance to sit down and hunt out any new savoury recipes that I would like to add to this blog. I’ve mainly been taking advantage of packet sauces, pre-made meals, and leftovers from the freezer from when I was last able to cook a few good meals. This coming week will be no exception. My freezer is stocked full of staples like pasta and rice to pair with several pre-made meals and leftovers.

And despite how much I love to bake, I’m not that much of a sweet tooth, so I thought baking something was also off the table as I’d be the only one to eat it. I prefer bitter flavours, and I find eating sweets too often messes with my blood sugars and my appetite. However, I realised one of the events I had on this weekend would allow me to bake something to take along and share! Perfect! There’s nothing like a captive audience when it comes to trialling new recipes! I was originally going to make banana bread, but making a regular one didn’t seem like enough of a challenge. Not to mention I already have several regular banana bread recipes on this blog.

But I did want to use up these four bananas I’d had kicking around in the freezer, and I was down to my last two eggs. So I turned to the internet for suggestions, and it delivered in the form of Nutella Banana Bread! However, Nutella itself is a little but pricey for me compared to the regular homebrand choc-hazelnut spread, so I decided to test it out using a generic homebrand! Sadly I couldn’t find a choc-hazelnut spread at the regular supermarket that was also diary free, and didn’t have a whole lot of other “superfood” additions that I knew would affect the flavour. But if you do have access to one, feel free to use it to make this recipe completely lactose free (hence it only being optionally lactose free).

Happy FF!

Adapted from Woman’s Day Magazine’s

Nutella Banana Bread

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 55min – 1hr

Ingredients

  •  2 cups/270g gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 1 tbsp/9g ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup/up to 90g brown sugar
  • 4 x very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 125 g butter, melted and cooled (Can use a dairy free margarine like Nuttelex)
  • 2 x eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup/60ml milk (Can use lactose free milk)
  • 1 tsp/5ml vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup Nutella (Feel free to use a dairy free spread if you have access to one, I used a cheaper homebrand choc-hazelnut spread.)

Method

  • Pre-heat your oven to 180C, and grease and line a 10 x 20cm loaf tin
  • Sift flour and cinnamon into a bowl, then add all other ingredients except the Nutella, and mix until combined.
  • Pour half the mixture into the loaf tin, then dollop on about half of the Nutella.
  • Using a skewer, swirl it through the batter.
  • Repeat this step with the remaining batter and Nutella.
  • Pop the banana bread in the oven for 55mins to 1hr, or until a skewer inserted into it comes out clean or with specks of moist crumbs.
  • NOTE: If you find the top is browning too much, cover it gently with foil.
  • Let sit in the tin to cool for up to 10 mins, then tip it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  • Can serve warm, or can slice it up, wrap the slices and freeze for up to 3 months.
7 thoughts on “Nutella Banana Bread (GF, Optional lactose free)

  1. This Nutella banana bread looks so pretty and sounds so delicious that I think I could finish the whole pan in less than a day. 😀 I am glad you have come at this week’s Fiesta Friday, Nell. Thanks for sharing this lovely bread with us!

    Like

  2. Woah Nell, this looks and sounds amazing! Although, I think everything tastes good if it has Nutella in it 🙂 All your recipes look fantastic, and I can’t wait to try some. I have a food blog too and I would love it if you checked it out: karaskloud.wordpress.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

