Brownies and Misc. Slices · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Instant Apple Slice (GF, DF)

instantappleslice

Hello, hello, hello!

For this week’s Fiesta Friday I thought I might be a little bit naughty and bring along some dessert! I had the opportunity, and the willing taste testers, over this weekend to try a recipe that had caught my eye on My Food Book. Which is fast becoming one of my favourite recipe websites after I tried their Mushroom and Lentil Bolognese and it was so darn delicious I can’t wait to cook more!

I had some apples I wanted to use up, but I didn’t have much else except flour and spices. So a small trip to the shops got me the remaining ingredients! And when combined with ice-cream brought over by some lovely guests, this made for a fantastic wintery dessert! For it’s still quite chilly here despite being August. But that’s Canberra weather for you! All the shops are selling summery or springtime clothes and it was snowing only yesterday!

What I really like about this recipe is the sheer simplicity. It’s a toss everything in the bowl and mix together sort of recipe. And those are generally my favourite. It means less washing up, less fuss with trying to remember not to leave anything out because you had to put it in a seperate bowl elsewhere. It’s also fantastic in that it can be served both hot, or at room temperature! But after letting mine cool I kept it stored in the fridge as I’m a little paranoid about anything that has the potential to ferment or go off and make people sick, which is the case with fruit cakes. I know other people are less concerned, but better to be safe than sorry I say!

I hope this recipe also inspires you to try some delicious wintery treats!

Adapted from Devondale’s

Instant Apple Slice

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 15 mins, Cook: 30-40 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 raw apples, peeled, cored and cut into small chunks
  • 2 x eggs
  • 1 cup/160g sultanas
  • 1 1/2 cups/205g gluten-free self raising flour
  • 125g Nuttelex/dairy free margarine, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup/145g brown sugar (Can substitute with white, but brown is better)
  • 2 tsp/5g mixed spice
  • Approx 1 tsp/2g cinnamon
  • Approx 1 tbsp/19g caster sugar
  • Optional: You can serve with ice-cream, cream or custard, or for dairy free options you can stick to dairy free ice-cream (I’m in love with Over the Moo and Zebra Dreams), or coconut whipped cream.

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C, and grease and line an 18x28cm slice pan.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, except for the cinnamon and caster sugar, and combine thoroughly.
  3. Pour into the slice pan and smooth the surface.
  4. Cook for 30-40 mins, or until a skewer inserted into the slice comes out clean.
  5. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 mins, otherwise you’ll find it a bit delicate when you tip it out onto a wire rack to cool.
  6. Sprinkle the top of the slice with the caster sugar and cinnamon.
  7. Serve warm, or at room temperature, with your preferred topping – options above!
8 thoughts on “Instant Apple Slice (GF, DF)

Leave a Reply

