Cupcakes and Muffins · Gluten-Free · lactose free

Zucchini Muffins (GF, optional Lactose Free)

zucchini muffinsHello, hello, hello!

I have thoroughly worn down the freezer after coming back from holiday, being as spectacularly unmotivated as I am to do more cooking of mains meals to get it restocked. I seem to have run out of recipes that inspire me that will also freeze well! But while hunting around for what to cook next I realised that I was entirely out of tasty savoury homemade snacks to take to work! This wouldn’t do!

I hunted through my collection of recipe books but nothing stood out to me. I then turned to my collection of recipes torn from magazines or printed online. I discovered that the tasty freezeable zucchini slice my whole family had fallen in love with had a variant, a zucchini muffin that would also freeze! And as the recipe said it would make six, I knew I would get at least a dozen out of it with my additions – haha! And I was right!

These muffins are incredibly easy to out together, delicious when hot, and can even be made lactose free! But if the lactose content doesn’t bother you too much these taste best with a cheese blend rather than a straight cheese I find. But do whatever works for you! And that’s the same for the customisations. I hate waste, so I always use a full packet of shortcut bacon rather than open a packet to get two or three measly slices. I also like to add in other veggies, like carrot, and a small tin of corn! And if you feel the recipe is too thick or dry after your additions you can always add a little bit more lactose free/regular milk to get it smooth again!

Happy FF!

Adapted From Coles Magazine’s

Zucchini Slice Muffins

Makes: Up to 12, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 35-40 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 x 175g packet of shortcut rindless bacon, diced
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 2 x zucchini, grated
  • 1 x carrot, grated (Optional)
  • 1 x 125g tin of corn kernels (Optional)
  • 1 cup/120 grams shredded cheese (Can use Liddell’s lactose free cheese)
  • 2 cups/300g gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tbsp dried dill
  • 2 x eggs, lightly whisked
  • 3/4 cup/185ml milk (Can use lactose free milk)
  • 60g butter, melted (Can use Nuttelex or a dairy free spread)
  • Oil for cooking.

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180C and spray with oil/grease a cupcake tin with 12 holes.
  • In a frypan, fry the onion and bacon for 5-8 minutes or until the bacon is cooked. Set aside.
  • Combine all the other ingredients in a large mixing bowl while the bacon and onion mix cools a little.
  • Then stir the bacon and onion through.
  • If you feel your mix is too dry you can add a splash more lactose free/regular milk, otherwise fill the patty pans about 3/4 full and pop the tray in the oven.
  • Cook for up to 30 mins, or until browned on top and a skewer inserted into them comes out clean or with a few specks of moist crumbs.
  • Tip out onto a wire rack to cool.
  • To freeze, wrap the muffins individually in ziplock or plastic bags once completely cool and pop in the freezer for up to 3 months.
  • Thaw overnight in the fridge.
8 thoughts on “Zucchini Muffins (GF, optional Lactose Free)

Leave a Reply

