Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Banana Cupcakes (GF, Optional Lactose Free)

bananamuffins

Hello, hello, hello!

Wow! I’ve been as busy a bee as ever this past fortnight, although it’s fair to say as a rule of thumb I simply do too much! I honestly feel like I’m still recovering after my friend’s wedding and being sick that week too!

But I have also realised it was a good idea to take this blog to being fortnightly posting versus weekly posting. It had gotten to the point that it was stressing me out attempting to find the time to cook something I was proud of and wanted to share, or even a flop from which I felt others could learn from like I did. Winding things back has helped significantly, and I had a lot of fun making these muffins and doing their photo shoots – searching for a photo I really liked.

I have significantly more room in the freezer at the moment now I’m not storing cakes. So I have begun re-stocking on freezer friendly meals and snacks. Snacks have become a big thing at the moment because I’ve been really hungry in the mornings and afternoons, particularly if I go for a big walk at lunch or do dance practice, which I should be doing a lot more of! I have begun to stock up on pots of fruit, nuts and chickpea snacks. But I do miss having something small to warm up to have with a cup of tea. This is because I’m taking a break from the zucchini slice now I’ve eaten through about three of them!

So I decided to put the four bananas, one ready to freeze and three frozen, that I had sitting around to good use! I kept this recipe nut-free, in-case I needed to search it to nut-free guests, and also didn’t use the icing. But these are both things that can be done! This recipe is also fairly simple to adapt to be lactose free!

But people have been asking me lately where I get my recipes from, and what has helped me on this quest to become a gluten-free cook and baker. Well, nowadays I simply have to answer the Australian Women’s Weekly cookbooks have been a huge help, with a smattering of other series and a few internet recipes. But it is very true that until I started cooking from the AWW books I didn’t yet have that “sense”, where I could look at a recipe and get an idea of whether it would work or not based on the ingredients, or whether I could look at it while I was cooking and say – it needs a pinch of this or a bit of that. And I have noticed I’m now doing that a lot lately!

Happy FF!

_DSC0073

Adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly’s

Banana and Cinnamon Muffins

Makes: 18 Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups/300g gluten free self-raising flour
  • 1/3 cup/50g gluten free plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1/2 cup/110g firmly packed brown sugar (You can add up to 1/4 cup more if you’re a real sweet tooth)
  • eggs
  • 3/4 cup/180ml buttermilk * see note for lactose free version
  • 1/3 cup/80ml vegetable oil
  • 1 cup/460g approx mashed banana

Icing

  • 125 g/4 ounces cream cheese, softened slightly (Use lactose free if wanting to adapt)
  • 1/4 cup/40g gluten-free icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, for sprinkling

NOTE: To make the lactose free buttermilk, combine 3/4 cup/180ml of lactose free milk with 3/4 tbsp or 15ml of lemon juice, stir, and let sit for 5-10 minutes. You’ll notice it thicken up like regular buttermilk!

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C and line 18 holes of two muffin trays with patty pans, or spray with oil.
  2. Sift the flour, cinnamon and bi-carb soda into a bowl. Add the sugar.
  3. Combine the eggs, buttermilk and oil in a large jug and whisk lightly with a fork. Then pour over the flour mix.
  4. Add the mashed banana, and stir to combine. But remember, only until just combined, as a lumpy batter makes for nicer muffins!
  5. Spoon the mixture into the prepared trays, then pop them in the oven and bale for 15-20 mins or until a skewer inserted into their middles comes out clean.
  6. Tip them out, top-side up, onto a wire rack to cool.
  7. NOTE: Un-iced muffins can be frozen for up to 3 months.
  8. To make cream cheese topping, if using, put the cream cheese and sugar in a small bowl and beat until smooth.
  9. When the muffins are cold, use a knife or spatula to spread them with topping; and sprinkle with the extra cinnamon.
  10. NOTE: Iced muffins can be kept in the fridge in an airtight container for up to 3 days.
8 thoughts on “Banana Cupcakes (GF, Optional Lactose Free)

  1. Banana cupcakes are a kind of comfort food for me. Easy to fix but the aroma wafting in the home while and even after baking is sort of therapeutic. Take care and relax Nell.
    Regards
    Ana

    Like

  2. I am having a problem with my freezer, so I have an excuse not to stock up. But when I think of not being able to stock frozen fruits for make ahead smoothies, I wanted to run to the appliance store to get a new fridge. These cupcakes look delicious, Nell. Happy Fiesta Friday & have a great week ahead!

    Like

    1. Hi Jhuls, thanks! That’s awful that your freezer is giving you grief. I don’t know how I’d survive without being able to use mine. I’m guessing all my savings would be going to a new one! @.@ I hope those issues will be resolved soon! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

