Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Pork · Weeknight Mains

Sausage and Lentil Stew (GF, DF)

sausageandlentilstew

Hello, hello, hello!

It’s so good to be back! That cut put me out of commission when I least expected it to, and now I’m healed but I’m into a very busy period! It turns out this is the month where I need to get the most done offline apparently! So I have done a lot of thinking, and I have decided that from now on I will try to post fortnightly. I simply can’t meet the usual weekly post deadline anymore, and while there’s no way I will give up blogging, I do need to have a bit of a gap between posts. That way I can ensure I do have the time to blog, and what I’m blogging about is something that makes me happy.

That’s why this stew seemed like a really good recipe to post about. As this is a long weekend for me, mum came down to visit! She’s been a huge help in working with me to get my place in order after not being able to do quite so much while I couldn’t properly use my hand. She’s also helped me spring clean the place, lift all the rugs, etc. And she’s been helping me in the kitchen. This stew was one of our first dinners together after she came down, and it was delicious, and is now filled with warm memories of my mother.

It’s also a part of my freezer friendly cooking escapades. As mum loved one trial of a beef ragu I did, and has fallen so in love with the zucchini slice I’ve posted about previously she’s going to make it herself for her and dad when she gets home. She’s getting quite keen on these freezer friendly meals too I think!

But what else have I been up to? Apart from resting that finger, I’ve gotten back to dance class at last – twice now as of last week. It felt sooooo good to be back! I’ve bought another pattern for a dress, as I am a glutton for punishment, and I have asked my friend Mr M to ask his friend if she will help guide me as I finish another sewing project. Little by little I will learn how to sew! I am determined! But I have also made final preparations for my friend’s allergy friendly cake, as the side cake at her wedding. Today was rather stressful as I went over hill and dale, and around the world for a sixpence trying to find one ingredient for the icing. But I’m all sorted and ready to go now. I have four layers in the freezer, in-case something happens to the two I’ve got currently, and my best friend is driving me to the wedding so I can make sure the cake is nice and safe! Perfect!

Happy belated FF!

Adapted from Taste.com.au’s 

Sausage and Lentil Stew

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 35-50 mins

Ingredients

  • Olive oil, for cooking
  • 500g pork chipolatas (make sure they’re gluten-free)
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 1 x 125g chorizo, diced (make sure it’s gluten-free)
  • 800g tinned diced tomato
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • A generous sprinkling of dried Italian herbs
  • 1 tsp minced garlic, if your dried herbs don’t contain garlic
  • 400g tin lentils, drained and rinsed
  • Salt and pepper, to taste.

Method

  • In a saucepan, add some oil and cook the chipolatas in batches for 5 mins or so until brown.
  • If, like me, you like your sausage pieces really crispy you can remove the browned chipolatas and slice them diagonally into bite sized pieces. Then add them back to the pan and fry until browned through. Otherwise simply set the browned chipolatas aside for now.
  • Add the onion and chorizo to the pan, and fry for 3-4 mins. Add in the garlic and cook for a further two mins, or until the onion has softened.
  • Add the chipolatas back to the pan.
  • Add in the tomato paste, lentils, herbs, and diced tomato, season to taste and stir.
  • Simmer, uncovered, for 15-20 mins or until the sauce is nice and thick, and has absorbed all the flavours of the herbs and the chorizo, and the sausages are cooked through. Provided you didn’t crisp them further earlier.
  • Serve hot!
  • NOTE: This goes great with mash potato, toast, or pasta!
  • NOTE: to freeze, allow the stew to cool, then separate into portions in ziploc bags or airtight containers and freeze for up to 2 months. Defrost overnight in the fridge before re-heating to serve again.
6 thoughts on “Sausage and Lentil Stew (GF, DF)

  1. Interesting to hear you move to fortnightly posts Nell – I did that last year for the same reasons as you. With less pressure on myself to post weekly I feel more balanced and focused on good quality posts rather than rushed ones 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

