Chicken · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Weeknight Mains

Easy Red Chicken Curry (GF, DF)

red chicken curry

Hello, hello, hello!

I almost didn’t make it to this Fiesta Friday. Going to the new dance class this weekend has thrown things a bit out of order. But it was good fitness, and I had a nice lunch afterwards – plus I had the wonderful Mrs E over for a cup of tea that afternoon too, so it was all worth it. Now I know a place that does have gluten-free lunch options, which are quite well priced for their size!

Thai red curry is one of my favourites. It’s always been one of those dishes I love to try at each new place, and tends to be a good indicator for me as to whether I’ll like the red of the dishes there. The other dish I often lean on is Massamam curry. Yu-u-um! This was also a dish that my family would make, more towards the time I was in high school and Uni. You could get cheap packet sauces, and toss in coconut milk, leftover barbecue chicken, some veg, and a meal would be ready in less than half an hour. Although I was the only one who really ate it.

I found this recipe in a cheap as chips cookbook I picked up while in Kmart, while in search of a decently sized teapot. It’s called – The Curry Kitchen: Classic, Spicy and Satisfying, 150 Great recipes. It’s a series of cookbooks, all available at Kmart, which cover all sorts of things, including smoothies.  But I was attracted to this one because it had a lot of the curries I love, lots of full colour photographs, and simple instructions.

This Easy Red Chicken Curry is exactly what the title says it is, easy. It was really just a case of marinating the chicken in the red curry paste, popping all the ingredients in, bringing it up to the boil and then simmering it until the veggies were cooked. The kind of veggies you use will really alter the cooking time. I always use a carrot and cauliflower combination because that’s what we used at home, but you can use green beans or anything else you prefer.

Happy FF!

Adapted from The Curry Kitchen’s

Easy Red Chicken Curry

Serves: 4, Prep: 1hr marinating, then 10 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins, depending on veg

Ingredients

  • 1.5 tbsp Thai red curry paste (make sure it’s gluten-free, e.g. the Ayam brand curry paste)
  • 500g chicken thigh fillet, diced
  • Vegetable oil, for cooking
  • 1 x 400ml can coconut milk, plus up to a can and a half worth of water (optional)
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce (or less, if you’re not huge on fish sauce flavour)
  • 3 tsp brown sugar (I used coconut sugar)
  • 2 large dried chillies, roughly chopped (optional)
  • 250g green beans, trimmed and sliced (optional, but I used a mix of diced carrot and cauliflower)
  • Coriander, to garnish (Optional)
  • Cooked rice, to serve.

Method

  1. Marinate the chicken in the red curry paste for up to an 1hr where possible.
  2. Then pop the chicken in a saucepan along with a little vegetable oil, for cooking, and fry the chicken for 2-3 mins or until browned.
  3. Add in the coconut milk, fish sauce, brown sugar, vegetables if using. If you like your curry thick, only add a small amount of water using the coconut milk can. But I used the empty coconut milk can to add about a can and a half worth of water to make sure the vegetables were covered and there was lots of tasty sauce.
  4. Bring up to the boil, then reduce and simmer for up to 20 mins, stirring occasionally, or until the vegetables and chicken are cooked through.
  5. Serve over cooked rice, sprinkled with coriander if so desired.

8 thoughts on “Easy Red Chicken Curry (GF, DF)

  1. I love a good curry and the combination of fish sauce and coconut milk is irresistible! It needs more ingredients but it is such a wonderful base. It sounds like a great cook book, I love when you stumble over a great bargain like that! The curry sounds so good 🙂

    Like

  2. I, too, am a huge fan of curries! In fact, we’re having a Thai Green Chicken Curry for dinner tonight after Ballet!
    My key indicator for a new place is quite often the Laksa. I’m so pleased to read that someone else shares my secret barometer 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

