Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · lactose free · Misc. Desserts

Creamed Rice (GF, Lactose Free)

creamedrice

Hello, hello, hello!

I’m a bit exhausted this weekend, having done a couple of later nights at work this week. But even so that hasn’t dampened my love for my new workplace at all, quite the opposite. I was motivated to get my work done, and to the highest possible quality, and my colleagues were incredibly supportive the entire time. I got plenty of encouragement and thanks for the extra time, and everyone pitched in the moment I needed help to get things done. I was really touched at how good it felt to be working somewhere where I can use my brain thoroughly, everyone is so kind, and when I have to work extra hard it’s not something taken for granted. I was particularly impressed at how supportive my mentor was, given he was also putting in extra hours and working very hard. I’m so glad I’ve found such a good place to work!

But that meant that this weekend I didn’t have the strength for doing too much. I have cleaned the place from top to bottom, as I’ll be hosting a roleplay game here on Monday night. I also mastered the dryer, at last, with the use of “dryer balls”. Spiky balls that bounce around inside the dryer to prevent things folding over and not drying properly. So in one day I had conquered several loads of wash as well as cleaned the apartment! I then cooked a late dinner with a good friend.

That in particular turned out to be fortuitous. Her fiance was wanting to make a special dip for the roleplay game we’re both going to tonight, but he wanted it to be edible for both Mr M and I. And he hadn’t realised I was lactose intolerant and couldn’t handle a whole lot of regular cream cheese. But as my friend had already asked me to bring over my gluten-free Worcestershire sauce, I said – I also have lactose free cream cheese that he can have! And as I’m not testing the icing recipe anymore it does really need using up so it doesn’t go to waste. So when I went over to cook I gave him the cream cheese and sauce!

But that still left me with two little tubs of lactose free cream to do something with, and I’m not much of a cream sauce, etc, person. So while I was wondering what I should do with it, I realised I had a whole bag of sushi rice left in the cupboard, as well as lots of lactose free milk, and a few vanilla beans that a good friend brought back for me from Nepal I think it was. Aha! I knew you could use sushi rice for desserts, so this morning I whipped up a big pot of creamed rice! It was delicious, not overly sweet, and the vanilla flavour was spot on. It did require a lot of love, but it wasn’t too tiring standing there stirring until it was thick, and rich, and ready to eat sprinkled with cinnamon!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Woman’s Day Magazine’s

Pineapple Creamed Rice

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 30-35 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups/500 milk (I used Aldi brand lactose free milk)
  • 3/4 cup/180ml thickened cream (I used Zymil’s lactose free thickened cream)
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean, split lengthways
  • 1/2 cup sushi/arborio rice
  • Ground cinnamon, to serve

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium to large saucepan and bring up to the boil.
  2. Reduce the heat to a simmer, and simmer for up to 30-35 mins, stirring continuously to make sure the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.
  3. When the liquid has reduced significantly, and the rice is nice and tender, it’s ready to serve! Taste test close to the 30 min mark if you’re worried.
  4. Remove the vanilla bean and serve topped with ground cinnamon.
  5. NOTE: Good hot or cold!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Creamed Rice (GF, Lactose Free)

  1. Good to hear the new job is going well – I always feel in the best place with work when it doesn’t feel at all like work – perhaps not as fun as cooking but enjoyable nevertheless. I need some of those spiky balls too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

