Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday

Spinach and Basil Pesto Sauce (GF, DF – optional)

spinachpesto

Hello, hello, hello!

This is a slightly belated Fiesta Friday post, as I’ve been flat out since the weekend, preparing for work and such and preparing to go away for Easter! But it was a very productive weekend too. I used up all the groceries that needed using up before I went away, I put aside several portions of pasta and rice for later meals, made up some spinach and basil pesto sauce to freeze, and also managed to do a photoshoot with my good friend Mrs E! You’ve all been very patient, so here is my little place!

Nell_27tiny kitchenPresenting my little kitchen. It only extends a bit further to the left for the oven, microwave and fridge. But as you can see the addition of an extra island bench was very necessary. Where my mixer and jug are sitting is also the only powerpoint available in the kitchen not dedicated to the microwave or range hood. So that’s also the only place my appliances can go. Beside that is the single sink. Looks are deceptive, however, as the sink is quite deep. The bench is very convenient though. We turned it around so the seat nook faces the cooktop, and tucked the bin and a wheelie trolley under there which stores my baking odds and sods.

Nell_25livingroomAnd we go from the kitchen to my living area and balcony! It’s all one open space, but using the rugs made it feel very zones. I love the nesting tables too, they’re very convenient for having lots of table space that I can then shrink at a whim. You can also see my sideboard there past the floor lamp. I’m so glad I decided to get it in the end. It stores all of my baking tins, cooling racks, cake boards and more. It’s also given me the space for storing my ever growing collecting of cookbooks. I discovered that one of my favourite op shops had a whole plethora of AWW magazines and cookbooks from way back when, so my collection has boomed for bargain prices recently.

Nell_30croppedAnd there you have it! My apartment is quite little, as several people have now remarked. But I adore it. It’s convenient, easy to clean, close to all my friends, and I’ve really been able to make the space my own. I also hosted my first ever roleplay game here on Monday night, so it’s finally starting to feel like home.

But this spinach and basil pesto sauce is delicious! I had several portions of chicken leftover and frozen from when I made Polly’s roast chicken. So all I needed to do was bring along some pasta, heat the whole lot up, and I had instant delicious chicken pesto pasta! I love this sauce in particular because it’s so easy just to whip it up and then set it aside. You can also use it for dipping!

Adapted from I Quit Sugar’s

Spinach and Basil Pesto

Serves: 2 (or 3 small single serves), Prep: 5 mins

Ingredients

  • Approx. 180g toasted pine nuts
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups basil
  • 2 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 50g grated parmesan cheese (or 2 tsp nutritional yeast flakes for dairy free version)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Place all ingredients in a blender, and blend until smooth.
  2. Either serve as a dip, or you can seperate it into portions and freeze it for later use.
21 thoughts on “Spinach and Basil Pesto Sauce (GF, DF – optional)

    1. Thanks! This recipe is definitely adaptable, the original author had a whole lot of substitutions – so you could even leave out the nuts, swap them for something else, or use nutritional yeast flakes instead of parmesan. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The pesto sounds marvelous and your apartment is so fun! I like using a little spinach inmy pesto – all basil seems so indulgent and the spinach gives a bit of a mellower flavor!

    Happy FF!!

    Mollie

    Like

Leave a Reply

