Gluten-Free

Blogger Recognition Award

braws

Hello, hello, hello!

As you can see from the above image, the wonderful Kate of Kate Cooks Things has nominated me for the blogger recognition award. I want to say a huge thank you to Kate for thinking of me, and I heartily recommend that you all go over and check out her blog! She has some gorgeous sweets, but also plenty of delicious mains!

And as always, there are some rules to go along with this award. I have, however, shortened the amount of nominees as I like to try and nominate new blogs each time, and this gives me more space to do so without running out of nominees!

So here are the rules:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link their blog in your award post.
  2. Write a short story of how your blog first began.
  3. Give 2 pieces of advice for new bloggers.
  4. Select up to 5 other bloggers that you would like to nominate.
  5. Comment on the nominees’ blogs and let them know that you have nominated them, and make sure you provide a link back to your post.

So how did I Need a Feed get started?

Honestly, I have an excellent memory for moments and yet I can’t quite remember the exact moment I decided to start a blog. I know that I tried multiple platforms, and found them expensive or lacking. What I wanted was the freedom to control how the blog looked but without spending a fortune!

I liked how I could customise this blog so much, while still being on a free account, and that was what stuck me to worpress.com. I had always had a passion for food, although more so for sweets when I first started than now. I wanted to challenge myself, expand my skills, and I suppose show the blogging world what I could do.

My family was very supportive, and in fact over the years have been increasingly involved in my blog efforts. But it was their support that got me going, assuring me that my skills would improve, and that my passion would show through and eventually attract like-minded people to my blog. And it did!

I have been fortunate to have such long-time support from so many other bloggers, and I hope in the future that I can start doing blogger meet-ups with other bloggers from my area, to discuss and share recipes, and talk blog-shop! I want to improve my skills even more, and I welcome advise, tutorials, and anything my fellow bloggers have to offer. So if you are a Canberra based food or design blogger, hit me up!

Now, my two pieces of advice for new bloggers:

Be persistent and proactive! I’d have to say that it was only really in 2016 where my blog seemed to gain traction. I got to meet a huge amount of wonderful new bloggers in 2016, and that was so nice! But you have to be willing to be patient, to go out and investigate a lot of other blogs to find like-minded people. See what’s out there! It might take a while for you to meet other

Post content that you like! It sounds silly to say it like that, but I only ever post things on my blog that I like and that I want to share. I may not always have a huge amount to say about it, but it’s always content that means something to me. Maybe it’s because I had a good time making it, or it was a good challenge, or I learned from it as a failure – whatever it is, it means something.If you don’t like your content you won’t have fun posting it! And having fun is very important!

And my nominees are:

The Lemon and Jar

Food from Michelle’s Kitchen

Polenta and Baccala

My GF Home Bakery

 

7 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

    1. Haha! Well, I achieved a goal then! 🙂 I’m very keen on getting to do a blogger meet up! Fingers crossed some Canberran bloggers hit me up! Any time I go up to Sydney I’ll also be putting the word out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

