Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Pfeffernüsse (GF)

pfeffernu%cc%88sse

Hello, hello, hello!

I’m so sorry I’m late again to Fiesta Friday but there’s been a lot happening since I last posted!

First of all, I started working with a new company last week! It’s all been very exciting. I’ve learned so much already, and I’m loving the challenges of this new role. Not to mention the team are fantastic, supportive, and have excellent senses of humour! I’m already in love with the culture. I’ve also enjoyed bussing to and from work, which is something that astounds people. Public transport here is not what I would call – good. I have been to too many places with AMAZING public transport, you see. However, I’ve been forced to eat my words given I can now drive about ten minutes from my house, park for free, and get on a frequent bus that stops not ten minutes walk from my work! It saves me oodles of time battling traffic and means I get more time to wake up and get focused for the day! Not to mention – no paid parking!

And the other big event that’s been happening is that my parents are selling the house and moving away from Canberra! As a result I have been scanning for places to move to, and faster than I was expecting. My only criteria are: good kitchen, good energy efficiency rating and close to convenient bus stops. I don’t need lots of space outside of the kitchen. I’m used to living out of storage boxes in my bedroom in particular due to having no storage space. Luckily there are many new apartment complexes that fit this criteria, and many others on the same street as my regular bus! So next week there will be many, many inspections to do next week.

In the meantime the kitchen is on lock down, as my parents would prefer I don’t get in and dirty the oven, etc, while they’re keeping the place spick and span for open houses, and that’s fair enough. So this might be my last post for a little while! Unless I’m able to get out into other friends’ kitchens, or do some restaurant reviews! So I’m glad it turned out to be such a success.

These were moist, with a bit of crunch, and a deliciously aromatic spice combination that just worked so well. The day after they were really melt in your mouth delicious too! I’ve also tried to add alternative measurements where I was able to get them, but with some of them all I could use what was given as I didn’t have time to weigh everything or test volume. But I’m slowly making that a habit!

 

Adapted from SBS Food’s

Pfeffernusse 

Makes: up to 24, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 10-12 mins

Ingredients

  • 125 g unsalted butter, softened slightly
  • 110 g/½ cup, brown sugar
  • 1½ lemons worth of lemon zest
  • 90 g/60 ml/¼ cup molasses (or honey)
  • 1 egg
  • 50g/½ cup almond meal, packed
  • Up to 330 g/or up to 2¼ cups gluten-free plain flour
  • ½ tsp/2g baking powder, gluten free
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda, gluten-free
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground black pepper
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ½ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves
  • ¼ tsp ground allspice
  • 125 g/1 cup icing sugar, gluten free, for dusting

Method

  • Preheat oven to 160°C. Line two large oven trays with non-stick baking paper.
  • Beat the butter, sugar and zest until just creamy.
  • Add the molasses and beat until just combined.
  • Add the egg and beat until evenly combine.
  • Sift together the gluten-free plain flour, baking powder, bicarb and spices. Add the flour mixture, and almond meal, to the butter mixture and beat on lowest possible speed until just combined and a soft dough forms.
  • Roll heaped teaspoonfuls of the mixture into balls and place 2cm apart on the lined trays.
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes, swapping the trays halfway through baking, or until they are cracked, puffed, and their bases have browned a little.
  • Sift the icing sugar into a medium bowl.
  • Very gently add handfuls of the warm biscuits to the icing sugar and toss to coat generously. Be gentle because they are still fragile while warm!
  • Place on a wire rack to cool completely, and repeat with the remaining biscuits.
  • Serve!

 

6 thoughts on “Pfeffernüsse (GF)

Leave a Reply

