Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc Savouries

Haloumi Chips (GF)

haloumichips

Hello, hello, hello!

As I promised in my last post, I’m now bringing a nice platter of Haloumi chips to the party this FF. These were a quick, simple, savoury snack I whipped up for a New Years Eve party, on the recommendation of the host, so that a few people who couldn’t do meat wouldn’t be excluded from eating something good! Making sure everyone has something to eat and enjoy is a huge passion of mine, as readers will know. And luckily my friends always go the extra mile to making sure that there’s always something on the menu that I can eat every time we go out or every time I’m over for a meal. So it would have been rude not to return the favour!

These came about because I hit upon the idea of grilled haloumi to bring to the party, as it would be simple and not take up too much time or energy. But when I actually came to do the haloumi, it felt a bit…boring. I was sure there were nice marinades and sauces out there, but it would have been too timely or expensive to go out and shop for sauce ingredients. So I had a bit of a think. I have, in the past, lightly rolled chunks of tofu in gluten-free plain flour to give it a really delicious crisp coat on the outside. I wondered if I could do the same with the haloumi.

The internet told me haloumi is quite strong and won’t break apart even if cut into thin, chip like shapes, and that it’s incredibly quick to cook. So I mixed together some gluten-free plain flour with some pepper, cut and dried the haloumi and lightly rolled each chip. I then dusted off the excess flour and cooked them up in some hot oil. It worked so well! And all I had to do was turn them over once. Perfection!

These are great with dipping sauces, but being the heathen I am, I can’t go past a good barbecue sauce!

Nell’s

Haloumi Chips

Serves: 1-2, as an entrée, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 10-15 mins

Ingredients

  • At least 360g firm haloumi cheese
  • 1/4 cup/up to 35g gluten-free plain flour
  • Olive oil, for cooking
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Salt, to taste (Optional, I found the salt unnecessary).

Method

  1. Fill a fry pan with oil so that it’s at least 1-2mm deep, and then set aside.
  2. Get two plates and line them with paper towel and set aside, this will save you time later.
  3. Cut the haloumi into chip shapes, and gently pat them dry with paper towel.
  4. Combine the flour and pepper on a plate, or in a small box. Putting it in a bowl without a wide, flat bottom might mean the chips break in half when you’re trying to dust them.
  5. Start heating the oil on medium-high heat.
  6. Pop the chips into the flour, one at a time, and roll them over. Make sure to get both ends too. Then dust off the excess flour and set the chips aside.
  7. When all the chips are dusted, gently lower the end of one into the oil. If it starts sizzling and frying away, the oil is hot enough and you can gently place the chips in. If not the oil needs to be hotter.
  8. Cook the chips for a minute or two until the base and lower half of the sides are nicely brown, then turn them over and cook until the other side is brown.
  9. Remove from the oil and place on the plates lined with paper towel.
  10. Serve hot with your preferred dipping sauce.
  11. TIP: I rolled mine over once or twice on the paper towel to ensure the oil was absorbed from all sides.
20 thoughts on “Haloumi Chips (GF)

Leave a Reply

