Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Gingerbread, and Christmas baking (GF)

gingerbread1

Hello, hello, hello! I’ve had a gorgeous weekend, full of preparations for some Christmas gifts for friends, which I can do now two of them are back in Aus!

I’ve had a lot of fun getting to work with royal icing, trying decorating cookies with it for the first time. But I wasn’t quite satisfied with the idea of using sugar cookies for Christmas gifts, although that had been my original plan. Storage wise the cookies didn’t last as long as I’d like, and they didn’t have that real Christmas flavour.

At a friend’s Christmas party, another friend mentioned she was going to be making gingerbread cookies. It struck me then that I hadn’t made any gingerbread cookies for my blog this year, and that gingerbread would indeed be the perfect Christmas flavour. Not to mention those kinds of cookies last, and last and last.

I was fortunate enough to be able to get ahold of her recipe. She sent it direct to me that night! The next morning I was up and at it, adapting it to be gluten free. I found it needed the egg for binding and moisture, as I didn’t want to use xantham gum if I could help it. As my friend suggested the cookies also go rock solid on the first day of baking, but then started to soften the next day somewhat. They tend to remain quite hard, perfect for dunking, but didn’t seem at all dry.

And the flavour is simply perfect! I also decorated mine with the same royal icing recipe from my last post, but that’s really not necessary. You can serve them just dusted with icing sugar, or plain, if you’d prefer.

gingerbread2

I combined these with some simple, oven baked, sugared vanilla almonds and a few baubles, and it was a gorgeous gift. Like the quote on my blog header says, food for me is symbolic of love. It’s a way for me to express my gratitude for another year spent with good friends, having great laughs and good times.

And I hope everyone else has had a wonderful Fiesta Friday!

Adapted from Karina’s

Gingerbread Cookies

Makes: About 24 cookies, depending on size, Prep: 30-35 mins, Cook: 10-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 210 g caster sugar
  • 300g golden syrup
  • 1 Tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/14 Tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 Tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 Tsp sea salt flakes
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 620g gluten free plain flour, plus extra for rolling

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir until melted and well-combined.
  3. Set aside to cool.
  4. Once cool stir through the egg.
  5. Sift together the flour , baking powder and spices. Then add to the liquid mixture with the salt and mix until a thick, somewhat sticky dough forms.
  6. NOTE: Don’t be tempted to add more flour!
  7. Tip the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead together gently with lightly floured hands.
  8. NOTE: If your dough seems too soft, pop it in the fridge to chill for a few minutes.
  9. Otherwise, roll out the dough to a few millimetres thick, and cut out using your preferred cutter.
  10. Place onto the trays, a centimetre or two apart to account for swelling during baking, and bake for 10-20 minutes. Or until the cookies have started to brown around the edges.
  11. NOTE: I baked mine for about 15 mins.
  12. Remove from the oven and allow to cool on the tray for about five mins before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  13. NOTE: On the first day these will be very hard, but they soften over time!
  14. Store in an airtight container at room temp.
14 thoughts on “Gingerbread, and Christmas baking (GF)

  1. Would you believe I have never made gingerbread biscuits?!?!?!?! I usually stick with the gingerbread cake like kind, you know?!? Mini Me wants us to make Gingerbread bikkies today so to open up straight into this recipe was magnificent!
    Have a very Merry Christmas xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 I’m glad to hear it! I’ve heard a lot of people say they mostly just do the cake, but can you believe I’ve only ever done biscuits! I really want to try the cake next time! I’m glad you like the look of the recipe as well! They’re nice and crisp, but not dry, so I dunked mine in cups of tea. Other people suggested they’d be great in hot chocolate. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

