Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Bolognese Muffins (GF)

bolognesemuffins

Hello, hello, hello!

It’s been a bit hectic as of late, so I had to give Fiesta Friday a bit of a miss last week. I was sad to miss the party, but I needed the time to rest and be at home and get a few things done. It wasn’t until this week I’ve been able to cook something up for the blog, and much to my delight I was able to make two things! One of which I’ll be posting about next week.

I’ve been after some savoury snacks to have around the house, and I wanted to do something that would require minimal shopping and leave ingredients that wouldn’t go to waste. It’s hard to believe, but I am still using up what I have in the cupboard. I’m making quite decent headway into the various leftover flours and spares…and spares of spares, and it’s been quite a while since I’ve had to throw something out so because its past its expiry date. So I feel like that’s a victory.

I had some leftover lamb mince from a disaster dish a little while ago, and it turned out to be the perfect amount of mince for some Bolognese Muffins. These were quite interesting, as none in the family could imagine what a Bolognese Muffin would taste like. Would it have the right amount of flavour or feel just like eating bread with a smear of Bolognese on top? Well, the answer is – these taste absolutely delicious, and exactly like Bolognese! The flavour was spot on, and these made fantastic savoury treats!

Adapted from taste.com.au’s

Bolognese Muffins

Makes: 12, Prep: 30-40 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup extra light olive oil
  • 1/2 brown onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 200-250g beef/lamb mince
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 125g cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 1 3/4 cups gluten-free self-raising flour, sifted
  • 3/4 cup finely grated parmesan
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

Method

  1. Heat two teaspoons of the oil in a frypan, and then add in the garlic and onion until the onion has browned.
  2. Add the mince, and cook until the mince is brown.
  3. Add the tomato paste, dried thyme, tomato sauce and cherry tomatoes and cook for 3-5 mins, or until the tomatoes have softened.
  4. Remove the mince mix from the heat and allow it to cool completely.
  5. Pre-heat the oven to 180C and line a 12-hole cupcake pan with patty pans, or spray with spray oil.
  6. Combine the flour and parmesan in a bowl, and then add in the milk and eggs.
  7. Stir through the mince mixture.
  8. Spoon the mixture into the prepared cupcake pans and bake for 15-20 mins or until golden and firm, and a skewer inserted into their centres comes out with only a few moist crumbs attached.
  9. Remove from the pan and serve warm.
13 thoughts on “Bolognese Muffins (GF)

  1. I, too, have some minced lamb in the freezer from a less-than-perfect dish. I need to use it because it’s a constant reminder of the failure. 🙂 Never would I have thought to use it as you did here, Nell. Bolognese muffins? As one who grew up dipping bread into Mom’s pot of sauce simmering on the stove top, I have to give this dish a try!. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Not only do these sound delicious, but they must be extremely portable and make perfect picnic fare. We do quite a few road trips and I am always looking for savoury dishes I can carry with me, as highway restaurants are to be avoided! Thanks for sharing this neat idea with us at Fiesta Friday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

