Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc Savouries

Pumpkin Bread (GF, DF)

pumpkinbread

Hello, hello, hello!

I’m still not entirely well this FF. Unfortunately I can’t quite seem to shake this bug! But I’m not letting it keep me down. I went for a walk on the weekend with a friend and her dog and I think the exercise has helped a bit. It got my blood moving again.

But because I was housebound for the Sunday and I’ve used up all the leftovers in the freezer, I thought I’d try a savoury recipe that would take a little more time to do and would allow me lots of opportunities to sit down and rest. Sadly the recipe turned out to be a bit of a dud. We’re not quite sure what part of the spice mix caused the issue, but given it would be a bit expensive to replicate and re-test I’m leaving it for awhile.

In the meantime, I’ve been eager to try a recipe for pumpkin bread. It’s become a favourite savoury bread in our household, since we discovered a fantastic gluten-free one at the shops. But it can get a bit expensive. So I wanted to see if I could make a loaf of my own that would be a tasty alternative and would mean we wouldn’t need to buy more loaves so often.

This recipe is incredibly simple. Although I’ve noticed that quite a lot of pumpkin-based recipes only list pumpkin puree as an ingredient without a method for making it. I’ve probably been guilty of that myself in the past, so now is the time to rectify that! Making your own puree is very easy! I am also aware that tinned pumpkin puree exists, but it’s not easy to find here and I’d prefer to make it fresh myself. So I whipped up a batch using some butternut pumpkin, and I got two full cups out of it. So some for now, and some for later recipes! Yum!

Adapted from I Quit Sugar’s

Pumpkin Bread

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 1hr 40 mins (including making puree)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup arrowroot flour (or tapioca starch)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 4-5 medium eggs
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup pumpkin pureé.(method to follow)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, roughly chopped

Puree Ingredients

  • 1 butternut pumpkin

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C, and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Cut the butternut pumpkin straight down the middle, and scoop out the seeds. Place both halves of the pumpkin onto the tray, cut side down.
  3. Bake for 40 minutes, or until the pumpkin flesh is quite tender when poked with a fork.
  4. Blend or mash until smooth.
  5. Set a cup’s worth of puree aside to cool (I popped mine in the cup measure in the freezer to chill). The rest can be frozen properly for later use.
  6. Reduce the oven heat to 180ºC and line a loaf tin with baking paper.
  7. In a large mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients, including about 3/4 of the walnuts.
  8. Add the cooled puree and four of the eggs to the dry mix. If the mix seems a little too thick you can add the fifth egg and beat well. Otherwise just add in the vinegar now and mix thoroughly.
  9. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf tin and sprinkle with the remaining walnuts.
  10. Place in the middle of the oven and bake for 40 minutes, or until a skewer comes out clean and the top is golden brown.
  11. NOTE: If the top is browning too quickly, cover with a sheet of foil.
  12. Serve warm.
23 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bread (GF, DF)

    1. Hahaha, I know – right? I often find canned things have a strong metallic flavour to me, so if it’s not food I can rinse I don’t really like using it. Mum has also fallen in love with the bread, so while I was away she roasted half a pumpkin and made several cups worth of puree ready for more loaves. XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

