Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Ginger Sponge Roulade (GF, Optional DF)

gingersponge

Hello, hello, hello!

Would you believe that even after a work of eating leftovers or items from the freezer for work lunch, I still have another week’s worth left? It’s incredible what I can have crammed in there. And things like sausages or gluten-free chicken schnitzels can easily be defrosted and cooked up along with some veggies to make a simple meal. So I’m still avoiding doing too much savoury cooking for the time being while I whittle away what I already have.

Unfortunately for this FF I am also a bit under the weather. We’re not sure whether it’s a bad fever of the hay variety or the same bug that my father had last week. But I have an incredibly sore throat and a bit of a cough. So luckily I managed to whip something up and take it to an event Monday night, a roleplay session hosted by my new friend M, and said bug decided to hold off until the very end of the night. After which it hit me like a sledgehammer. So please forgive me if this post is a bit wonky, I’m still feeling very  dazed after making it through my work-related course today.

M runs fantastic roleplay games and the two that I’m in have been incredibly welcoming of me as a newcomer and someone with far less experience. M is great fun to hang out with too. He always make me laugh a whole lot, which as you readers may not know, is one of my top criteria for friendship. I absolutely love to laugh. M also happens to be gluten-free like me! Seeing as he always does a lot for us, and had me over for a lovely dinner, dessert and movie night on Friday, I was determined to return the favour. Mum recommend I make up a gluten-free version of one of her old favourites – this ginger sponge roulade.

The only issue I had was in discovering our oven now heats unevenly. Over time our oven’s temperatures have become inconsistent, and don’t even vaguely match what’s on the dial. According to the oven repair man this is completely normal, but trust me – having the temperatures vary by as much as twenty-two degrees, and never by the same amount, doesn’t feel normal. I cook religiously with oven thermometers and always spend about half an hour  to forty five minutes extra just messing around trying to get the temperature right. But when I do – it’s go time!

But anyway, happy FF!

Adapted From Recipes+’s

Ginger Sponge Roulade

Serves: 6, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 10 mins

Sponge Ingredients

  • 3 eggs, at room temp
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar, plus some extra for sprinkling
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free cornflour
  • 2 tbsp gluten-free plain flour
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Filling Ingredients

  • 300ml thickened cream
    • NOTE: For a dairy free option, use about 300ml of whipped coconut cream.
    • I have a recipe here, or I recommend the minimalist baker’s.
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 tbsp glace ginger, finely chopped.
  • Icing sugar, to dust

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
  2. Grease and line a 30cm x 25cm Swiss roll pan with baking paper, leaving extra paper at the ends for handles.
  3. Combine the eggs, caster sugar and golden syrup in a bowl and beat for 8 mins, or until thick and creamy.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients together, then sift a further two times until well combined. Sift a final time over the egg mixture.
  5. Gently fold everything together until just combined, then pour into the Swiss roll pan. You may need to gently tilt the pan to make sure the mix spreads to the edges.
  6. Bake for 10 mins, or until the cake springs back lightly when touched.
  7. While the cake is baking, place a large piece of glad bake on the bench and sprinkle evenly with the extra caster sugar.
  8. Once the sponge is cooked, immediately turn it out onto the sugared paper and carefully peel of the top piece of paper.
  9. Trim the crusty edges.
  10. Using a clean tea-towel or cloth, cover the sponge and gently press with your hands to flatten slightly.
  11. Remove the cloth and leave to cool.
  12. Once cool, prepare the filling.
  13. If using the thickened cream, beat the cream and the golden syrup together in a medium bowl until firm peaks form. Then fold in the glace ginger.
  14. NOTE: If using coconut cream, you’ll need to have put the tin of coconut cream/milk in the fridge the night before. Omit any vanilla and sweetener. Beat the cream with the golden syrup until thick and fluffy, then fold in the glace ginger as you would if using regular cream. You may want to return the cream to the fridge for a while to give it time to firm up a bit, but that is entirely optional.
  15. Take whichever cream you’re using and spread it over the cooled sponge, leaving a 2cm border.
  16. Using the paper as a guide, roll the sponge from one short side until completely rolled.
  17. Place the roulade, seam-side down, on a serving plate.
  18. Sprinkle with icing sugar to serve.
13 thoughts on “Ginger Sponge Roulade (GF, Optional DF)

  1. i just happened upon this post and your blog via Twitter, and so glad that I did! I’m a ginger and yes, I love almost all foods with ginger! This gf roulade looks impressive and I’m sure tastes lish–can’t wait to try it out on my mom, who’s gluten intolerant. Pinned, and thanks! –Ginger

    Like

Leave a Reply

