Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Glazed Rosewater Madeleines (GF)

rosewatermadeleines

Hello, hello, hello!

I’m a bit late coming to the party this FF! It was very busy last weekend and so I really didn’t have the time to come and post.  I was out with friends, celebrating a birthday, and then out with Mum and her friend to see a production of Wicked! I haven’t seen the show in a good couple of years but Mum hadn’t seen it at all before. So it was a lot of fun to introduce her to an excellent musical. The cast was so spot on and the costumes were amazing. It made for such a wonderful outing.

And as the freezers are currently full of leftovers, which I know I need to eat, I didn’t do any savoury cooking over the weekend. But I did have a tabletop roleplay session on the Monday and I wanted to bring something to share. I also wanted to bring something to give to the host in particular, as he is a lovely new friend and has helped me out a lot lately. I flipped through endless cookbooks, went through numerous favourited recipes on my computer, but it looked as though every single cake recipe I had marked out would require a trip to the shops to buy special ingredients.

I’m still at the stage of attempting to use up what I have in the cupboard rather than buying too many new ingredients. So, as per usual, I turned to the Australian Women’s Weekly books and started examining their other options. These Glazed Rosewater Madeleines popped out at me immediately. I had rosewater which needed using and I had all the other ingredients on hand too!

Often when I adapt recipes from the AWW I find I don’t have to reduce the amount of flour, as the cakes and bakes tend to stay quite moist. However, as I would be baking these the day before I wanted to be certain. So I experimented with adding the tiniest bit less flour. You wouldn’t think such a small amount as a couple of grams would make much difference, but surprisingly it often does. Particularly if you add a couple of grams too much. In this case I do think it helped keep the batter from being too dry. The sifting and folding also really helped to keep the madeleines light and fluffy. Yum!

Sadly the original icing was a bust. It didn’t make enough and it was unpleasant in terms of texture. So I whipped up an on the spot vanilla bean glaze instead. Much to my delight the host and a few others had also never seen madeleines before, so I was able to introduce them to something new and delicious! Although several people have now also given the madeleines the nickname of “beetles”…

Adapted from The AWW’s

Glazed Rosewater Madeleines

Makes: 12, Prep: 35-40 mins, Cook: 10 mins

Batter Ingredients

  • 125g unsalted butter, melted
  • Up to 2/3 cup/95-100g gluten-free plain flour (I used 95g, the original recipe suggests 100g)
  • 1 tbsp gluten-free plain flour, extra (optional)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup/75g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp rosewater
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Nell’s Make-do Glaze Ingredients

  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1 1/2-2 cups icing sugar, sifted (Make sure it’s gluten free)
  • 1-3 tbsp milk

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C and pull out your madeleine tin.
  2. Melt the butter, then use 1 tbsp of it to grease the tin. Set the butter aside to cool slightly and set the tin aside too.
  3. OPTIONAL: You can dust the tin lightly with the extra 1 tbsp of gluten-free plain flour. But I find if I grease the tins well I don’t tend to need to.
  4. In a bowl, combine the rosewater, sugar, eggs and vanilla and beat until somewhat pale, thick and fluffy and the sugar has dissolved. This can take five minutes or more.
  5. If you have a stand mixer, feel free to sift the flour and baking powder together twice while the egg mixture is beating. Otherwise sift the flour and baking powder together twice once you are done beating.
  6. Sift the flour and baking powder a third time, this time over the egg mixture, and gently fold together until no lumps of flour remain.
  7. Fold in the melted, cooled butter.
  8. Place tablespoons of the madeleine mixture into each hole in the tray, then place in the oven.
  9. Bake for 10 mins or until golden brown, and a skewer inserted into their centre comes out clean.
  10. Bang the tin on the counter top once you remove it from the oven, then let the madeleines cool in the tin for two or so minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.
  11. While the madeleines are cooling, prepare the glaze:
  12. Combine the icing sugar, vanilla bean paste, and enough milk to form a smooth paste.
  13. Beat until the icing is smooth and the sugar has dissolved.
  14. Gently dip the madeleines into the icing, or spread it over one end with a knife.
  15. Serve.

NOTE: These are best made and eaten on the same day, but you can make the madeleines the day before and store them in an airtight container overnight to be iced the next day.

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Glazed Rosewater Madeleines (GF)

  1. I love the new nickname! Madelines are so tasty. They were really popular in Korea and I’d buy a box when visiting Korean friends. I love the glaze you’ve included. So pretty and tasty!

    Thanks for sharing with us at Fiesta Friday.

    Like

  2. Hiya Nell – the host had never seen Madeleines before, great that you were able to introduce them to something new then. That is always exciting. I have seen them before, but never made them, however, I have eaten a number of commercially made Madeleines before but they are usually very moist and somehow “fake-tasting”. I am sure yours are lovely. I love your take on them, they look pretty and I am sure the rosewater was a delightful addition. I too turn to the Australian Womens Association cook and baking books, their recipes usually turn out excellently. Happy baking and happy weekend Poli

    Like

Leave a Reply

