Dairy-Free · Experiments · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc Savouries · Vegan

Cauliflower Rice (GF, DF, Experimental)

cauliflowerrice

Hello all! For this week’s Fiesta Friday I decided to do a little experiment and try out Cauliflower Rice. This is a pretty popular health food trend I’ve seen at a lot of Paleo Cafes and the like, but have only ever eaten a few times myself. The few times I have eaten it haven’t been stellar, as it ended up getting lost in amongst overly wet sauces, etc. But I thought it might be nice to see if I can cut down even more on my intake of rice than I already have.

I used only half a head of a cauliflower as I didn’t want to waste a full one should the experiment not turn out all right. But I found that even half a head made quite a lot of “rice”. I rinsed and thoroughly dried it, and then blended it a few florets at a time in my little food processor. This became lovely and fine. However, I discovered that even then it needed ridiculous amounts of squeezing to get the excess moisture out. I couldn’t find my muslin cloth at the time, but I do highly recommend using something like that to help you keep squeezing all that liquid out. I also tried mine on the stove top, although a few people recommend baking it in the oven to achieve the best level of dryness and texture.

My thoughts are this – if you love the taste of cauliflower, you will love this dish. It is extremely plain, tasting very little of anything else but cooked cauliflower. I think it would be even better made up as cauliflower fried rice, as I’ve seen a few people online do. Because then you’re adding other flavours to even it out.Texture wise it was quite pleasant. Mine was nicely dry and so wasn’t mushy or steamed, but just the tiniest bit crispy, which was nice. So I would definitely make sure to squeeze the excess moisture out if I was going to make it again.

Unfortunately this dish doesn’t sway me from the occasional bowl of rice. But I will keep trying different variations! Please let me know if you have tried making it yourselves and how it went!

Deliciouslynell’s

Cauliflower Rice – Experiment 1

Serves: 2, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 5-8 mins

Ingredients

  • A splash of oil, for cooking
  • Half a head of cauliflower, rinsed and dried.
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

 

Method

  1. Dice the cauliflower into small florets and blend until fine. You may need to do this in batches.
  2. Scrape the blended cauliflower into a muslin cloth and squeeze out all the excess moisture. This helps to prevent it from getting soggy later.
  3. Stir fry the cauliflower for 5-8 mins, or until it has started to brown and has a slightly nutty taste and smell.
  4. Season to taste and serve in place of rice.
23 thoughts on “Cauliflower Rice (GF, DF, Experimental)

  1. I also made a version of Cauliflower Rice/Couscous. My family did not appreciate the overwhelming smell of cauliflower that pervaded the house. It did not taste as it smelt but I agree, a bowl of rice is preferable and not as complicated and time consuming to make. But I am happy to ‘experiment’ with new recipes and flavours. Thanks for posting the recipe.

    Like

    1. Hi Nell, well this is a pretty looking dish indeed! I think after reading your review though, that I’d be more likely to just make cauliflower soup.. there is only so much fiddling with food I can face. I have to say that your finished product looks nice, but if the only thing to recommend it is it tastes of cauliflower and has an ok texture and you’d need to fry it as well, then that seems like an awful lot of energy (both Nell energy and fossile energy) going into producing a so so dish.
      Can’t imagine our Paleolithic ancestors cooking cauliflower rice either – oh they didn’t have cauliflower :)!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

