Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Baked Beans, two versions (GF, DF)

bakedbeans

Hello all,

It’s with a heavy heart that I come to this Fiesta Friday. My family and I have said goodbye to our beloved cat Rosie. She was with us for 18 years and 8 months, and has been such a big part of our lives for so long. She was beautiful, and will be missed.

DSC_0008

But I have also been touched at the warmth and kindness of my friends. One friend rushed straight over to be with me as soon as I announced the news, and I had two others give me plenty of love the day after – as well as introduced me to two new television shows as distractions! It’s very strange adjusting to not having her there, but everyone has been incredibly supportive. And I’m focusing on the positive memories.

But because I was feeling so run down I didn’t feel up to making anything too extravagant for this week. In fact I was feeling a lot like I needed some comfort food. But rather than turn to sweets I decided instead to go for some breakfast type foods that include simple meat and vegetables and some tasty sides. I’ve recently come to love things like homemade baked beans. They work so very well with mushrooms and eggs and sausage – not to mention some roasted eggplant, oddly enough. They’re also very easy to customise and to make in larger or smaller batches. Perfect for someone alone, or several people for breakfast.

I have two baked beans recipes I have fallen in love with, the first being my absolute, absolute favourite. So I hope you all enjoy them too.

Adapted from Woolworth’s

Homemade Baked Beans

Serves: 4, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: 25 mins

Ingredients

  • Oil, for cooking
  • 1 brown onion, finely chopped
  • 100g shortcut bacon, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 400g tin diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp molasses
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 420g tin cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 generous splash gluten free Worcestershire sauce

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large saucepan and fry the onion and bacon until both are cooked, about 5 mins.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to combine.
  3. Bring up to the boil, then reduce and simmer for 5-10 mins or so, or until the mix is warmed through and the beans are nice and soft.
  4. Serve.

 

Adapted from Taste.com.au’s

Quick Boston Baked Beans

Serves: 4, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • Olive oil, for cooking
  • 3 x rashers shortcut bacon, chopped
  • 1 brown onion, finely diced
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp hot paprika
  • 400g can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tsp brown sugar/coconut sugar
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 400g tin borlotti beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup gluten free beef stock
  • 1 generous splash gluten-free Worcestershire sauce (optional)

Method

  1. Heat the oil in a saucepan and fry up the onion, garlic and bacon, for up to 5 mins, or until cooked.
  2. Stir in the tomato paste, then add in the remaining ingredients. If you find your mix is too thick, you can add small amounts of stock. I like my beans a bit runnier, so I like to add the stock. You might not need this.
  3. Bring up to the boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, stirring, until warmed through and the beans are soft.
  4. Serve.
12 thoughts on “Baked Beans, two versions (GF, DF)

  1. Both recipes sound great, Nell, and I just so happen to have several pounds of fresh Borlotti beans in my freezer — with hopes to add to my stash after a trip to the farmers market this Saturday. I also think it’s great to read a baked beans recipe that does NOT start with “Empty the can of baked beans … “. I very much prefer to make things from scratch so that I know exactly what goes into that pot.

    Like

  2. I am so sorry you have lost your beloved Rosie. We have an Oreo that looks just like your Rosie and he is so sweet. 16 already. I can’t bear to think of losing him so I really feel for your loss. Your beans look delicious and nourishing. Take good care of yourself.

    Like

  3. I am so sorry to hear about your baby. I know how hard it is…she was a beauty! Thanks for sharing with us on FF and I hope it helps to keep yourself occupied just a bit and it’s great that you have such good friends!

    Mollie

    Like

  4. Hello Nell, so sorry to hear that you lost a member of your family. It has to be so hard now that Rosie is gone. It was also good to hear that your friends were available when you needed them most. On a lighter note, I’m not sure if you read Fiesta Friday’s features for last week, but I selected your pavlova as one of the features. Read what I wrote about it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

