Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Pavlova (GF, Optional DF)

pavlova

Hello, hello, hello!

Unfortunately I’m home sick this Fiesta Friday, so although I had plans to share a recipe for a new savoury snack I just haven’t been well enough to do any cooking. But that made me remember that I had this old recipe kicking around, and that I had plans to share it much earlier on my blog when I first made it. So now seems like the perfect time to bring it out!

It’s no secret that I love Pavlova and that I love Meringues. Anything with a similar base like that is right up my ally. Although I can never have too much because of how sweet they tend to be. So when Australia Day rolled around this year I thought to whip up a new version of the Pavlova I made when I first started working on this blog. I wanted to see if I could improve the recipe at all. But unfortunately at the time I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients, and I was loath to go buy more instead of using up what I had. So I turned to my usual place, The Australian Women’s Weekly, and this recipe for traditional Pavlova instead.

It turned out to be the best Pavlova I had ever made. It was also the tallest, with the most perfect crisp but deliciously crumbly shell and the insides were soft and like marshmallow. It got rave reviews from the family and all the neighbours, including one who doesn’t normally even eat Pavlova! So I heartily recommend it! The only thing I changed was the size of the circle for the Pavlova, as 20cm seemed too large for the amount of mixture it made, and I prefer my pavlova tall and thick to wide and thin. But feel free to use the original 20cm guide.

Please also feel free to replace the whipped cream with a dairy-free option such as whipped coconut cream. I have a recipe for that on my blog, but other people have recommend the minamalist baker’s  to me in the past, because her recipe is quite informative and so are the comments below which talk a lot about all the different variations people have tried. I have not tried it yet myself but I’m keen to give it a go. When making coconut whipped cream I also often double the amount, just to be sure I’ll have enough. I’ve also been told I should try whipped cashew cream, which seems to have taken over the internet unbeknownst to me. Once I find a recipe for it I like I will be sure to post about it.

If you have any preferred dairy free cream alternatives, please post about them here in the comments section and let me know! I’d love to know what alternatives people are using.

The Australian Women’s Weekly’s

Traditional Pavlova

Serves: 6-8, Prep: up to 25 mins, Cook:

Ingredients

  • egg whites
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tsp cornflour (gluten-free)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Topping

  • 300ml thickened cream, whipped (or a preferred dairy free option, such as whipped coconut cream.)
  • bananas, peeled and sliced
  • 250g strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • kiwi fruit, peeled and sliced (or feel free to use a mango or another fruit)
  • Pulp of 4 passionfruit (Optional, but does improve the flavour)

 

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 150°C. Draw an 18cm round onto some baking paper and place it, drawn side down, onto a baking tray.
  2. In a large, clean bowl beat the egg-whites until soft peaks form.
  3. Then, while beating, gradually add the sugar one tablespoon at a time.
  4. Continue beating until the sugar dissolves and mix is stiff, thick and glossy. Sift the cornflour over the mix to help prevent lumps, and then beat in with the lemon juice and vanilla.
  5. Spoon the mixture onto prepared tray within the 18cm round, with a slight recess in the middle.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes.
  7. Reduce oven temperature to 120°C and bake for further 45 minutes.
  8. Turn the oven off and allow the pavlova to cool with the door ajar, to fully dry it out.
  9. To serve, spread with cream. Top with bananas, strawberries and kiwi fruit and drizzle with passionfruit pulp.
22 thoughts on “Pavlova (GF, Optional DF)

  1. Wow, loving your pavlova, I’ve yet to attempt to make it, but your recipe sounds just lovely, and your instructions pretty concise. I love the addition of the passion fruit pulp. It looks light, airy and oh so delectable, thanks so much for bringing your gluten-free pavlova to Fiesta Friday. I know everyone will love it. Enjoy the rest of your weekend and feel better soon. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

