Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Toad in the Hole (GF, Lactose Free)

toadinthehole

Hello, hello, hello!

The weather is making a bold attempt at moving towards Spring, but is being held back by intense rain and cold winds. So I thought a little comfort food for breakfast was in order this weekend.

I ventured out only once to take a couple of bags of things to the local Vinnies and pop into Bunnings for some supplies today after cooking and eating. I’ve found a fantastic old tray which I want to do up. Its paint has yellowed with age and I plan to sand it back and give it a brand new look. I picked up a sample sized pot of white paint, which should be more than ample for this project, and while I was there I also found some interesting PVC self adhesive rolls with lovely patterns on them that I want to trial as backdrops.

I’m also awaiting an artificial lighting setup, to see whether that will allow me to start taking photos at night! I know people love natural light, and so do I, but the light here is weak over winter and my work schedule limits me to weekend photography as a result. I adore my blog and plan to continue writing it for many years to come. But it has become almost a chore to have to plan my entire weekend around cooking, preparing and shooting photos just to be able to take advantage of the daylight. I want more flexibility and the ability to take photos of the various delicious dinners I eat during the week. So I’ve been doing a phenomenal amount of research into the various options and I’m looking forward to playing with this setup when it arrives.

In the meantime I’ve once again been on the Great British Chefs website, after being so impressed by the gluten-free Gyoza recipe I found there. I had far too much gluten-free self-raising flour in the cupboard, and almost fifteen or twenty gluten-free chipolatas in the freezer, so when I found this recipe for gluten-free toad in the hole I knew I was onto a winner. I do recommend using a wider tray than mine as seen in the photo, so you get more of a spread and less Yorkshire pudding base to each sausage or chipolata. But this still fit perfectly in my enamel tin and the rise was fantastic. I’m quite keen to try this batter in some muffin tins to see whether it would work just as a regular gluten-free Yorkshire pudding, so I’m filing it away for later testing and use!

This is also a very versatile recipe! You could add herbs to the mix, pop in some onion, even sneak in some other veg to really round it out! I also swapped out the milk for lactose free milk, to suit my dietary needs, and it still worked just fine! This is definitely a comfort food breakfast, perfect for a cold day. And although it’s sacrilegious I liked mine mashed up a bit and served with barbecue sauce! But people do recommend serving it with onion or mushroom gravy. So cook it up and serve it however you like!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Victoria Glass’ 

Gluten-Free Toad in the Hole

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: up to 1hr

Ingredients

  • A dozen gluten-free chipolatas, or sausages, or as many will fit in your pan
  • Sunflower oil, for cooking

Batter Ingredients

  • 300g self-raising flour, gluten-free
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 200ml lactose free milk
  • 200ml water
  • Pinch of salt and pepper, or to taste
  • 2 eggs

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C.
  2. Drizzle a little sunflower oil in your chosen pan and pop in the sausages or chipolatas.
  3. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until the sausages are lightly browned. They will be cooked again later, so this is just to get them a little browned for now.
  4. Remove the sausages and set them aside.
  5. Increase the heat to 220C.
  6. Pop a few tablespoons of sunflower oil into the pan and pop it back into the oven for 5-10 minutes to get it really piping hot.
  7. Meanwhile, make the batter. Whisk all the batter ingredients together until no lumps remain, preferably with a balloon whisk in order to incorporate as much air into the batter as possible.
  8. Pour the batter into the pan, but be warned, it might spit as it comes into contact with the oil.
  9. Drop the sausages or chipolatas into the batter gently and then pop the whole lot back into the oven for up to 35-40 mins. Or until the pudding is browned all over, and a skewer inserted into various parts of it comes out clean.
  10. If you find your top is browning too quickly before the underside is cooked then cover it with foil.
  11. Remove, and serve!

 

19 thoughts on “Toad in the Hole (GF, Lactose Free)

  1. I can’t believe I missed this. It looks absolutely delicious. I am not sure why I never make toad in the hole myself, it is such a great dish and your version looks great 🙂

    Like

  2. One of my childhood favourites Nell – this caught my eye. There is a version in my OzHarvest cookbook that I have been meaning to try for the last few weeks…..I must get onto it. Also do you know what type of sausages were traditionally used for toad in the hole? Was it pork?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The toad in the hole looks delicious, and it sounds like the perfect breakfast for a cold morning Nell!
    So excited to hear how your artificial lighting set up goes! During winter I need to keep all my blog baking for the weekends as well, and even then the lighting can be so temperamental. Lighting is even harder to control if I want to start early enough to take pictures of the process as well…and then the photos come out in a full spectrum! Sounds like both natural and artificial light have their own challenges…hope all goes well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know exactly what you mean! Sadly the window in our kitchen is as far from my workspace as is possible for it to be, so it gets so dark in there so quickly. And despite it technically not being winter anymore the light hasn’t improved!

      But I have now taken some test shots with the artificial lighting rig, which arrived far sooner than expected, and I am so pleased with the results! It definitely is going to allow me to start taking photos at night or when there’s no good light! I can’t wait to start sharing more photos!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I can feel the change of weather, too. I agree with your with some food to comfort us and this sounds a prefect one. Really sounds so delicious and tasty with the addition of sausage. 🙂 I am always happy to see you at this week’s FF, Nell. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

