Chicken · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc Savouries

Gyoza (GF, DF)

gyoza

Hello, hello, hello!

For this Fiesta Friday I wanted to do something a little different, something I haven’t done before. Which I know I write quite a lot, but I do like doing new things! So when I was browsing through recipes, trying to find some inspiration, I realised that I have never made Gyoza from scratch before. Not even before we realised I was gluten intolerant. So after doing a bit of searching, and a bit of investigation, I realised it might be easier to rectify this than I thought.

This recipe does require the use of xantham gum, however. I found the dough didn’t hold all that well without it. So if you’re like my dad and the xantham gum isn’t great for your stomach this recipe might not be the best. But as he wouldn’t be eating these, mum and I would, I decided to go for it!

The original recipe seemed simple, with some flours that wouldn’t be hard or expensive to get, but a bit lacking in terms of the filling flavours. I’ve been trying to eat more veggies lately, and this seemed like the perfect chance to sneak in a tiny bit more veg. We had mushrooms and cabbage and those worked perfectly. Next time I want to try adding other kinds of mushrooms, maybe even some grated carrot, and potentially some other spices. My version of this recipe also makes a lot of extra mince, as I always cook to get spares. So you might want to double the dough or cook the extra mince up as meatballs like we did. Yum!

Happy FF!

EDIT: Also, I have just seen my new follower stats. I can’t believe how many wonderful people are following my blog at this moment. It’s really overwhelmed me how lucky I am to be a part of such an inclusive community. Thank you all so much for choosing to follow my humble blog!!!!

Adapted from Victoria Glass’

Gluten-Free Gyoza

Serves: 2-3, as an appetizer, Prep: Up to 45 mins, including rolling and filling, Cook: 10-12 mins

Dough Ingredients

  • 60g rice flour
  • 120g glutinous rice flour (also known as sweet rice flour)
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum (dough won’t hold well without it)
  • 125-150ml boiling water
  • 1 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 1 pinch sea salt

Filling

  • 500g chicken mince
  • 3 shallots, very finely diced
  • 1/3 cup finely diced mushrooms, button mushrooms work well
  • 1/3 cup finely diced cabbage
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp salt reduced tamari sauce (or regular tamari if you don’t mind the saltiness)
  • 1 tsp sesame oil

Extra

  • Oil for cooking, I recommend peanut oil.
  • 1/4 cup water, or more as needed.

Method

  • Combine the filling ingredients very thoroughly and set aside.
  • Combine the dry dough ingredients, and then add the water and oil and bring together with a fork. The dough is too hot to handle due to the boiling water when you first pour it in, but once it starts to come together in more of a lump you should be able to get your hands in and knead it until it forms a ball. If it is too dry, you can add a smidge more water.
  • TIP: Gluten-free doughs can often get very dry while you’re working with them. I like to use a damp paper towel, or damp cloth to cover the dough ball to keep it from drying out.
  • Using very, very light sprinklings of glutinous rice flour, take teaspoon and a half full chunks of dough, or pieces smaller than a walnut, and roll out into very thin circles. The thinner, the better, as you don’t want these too thick when cooking.
  • TIP: I covered the rolled out pieces of dough with damp paper towel to keep them from drying out while I was rolling.
  • Once all the rounds are rolled out, start filling them. Hold the round in your hand and start with a teaspoon of the mince, adding more as required. While you’re holding the wrapper it should naturally form a shape a lot like a taco, I then spread the mince out towards the sides a little so it wouldn’t be one large lump in the centre of all this dough.
  • Wet the edges of the wrapper lightly. It’s easy to do this by wetting it with one wet finger. Then fold the edges of the dough up to meet each other and pinch to close, making sure not to leave air pockets. If you’re crafty, you can even crimp the edges of your dough.
  • Place the finished dumpling on a flat surface, preferably lined with baking paper, and push down very gently to give it that flat underside. Then sit it on some baking paper while you repeat this step with the other wrappers.
  • Tip: I once again covered the dumplings with a damp paper towel to keep them nice and fresh while I worked on the others.
  • Heat some oil in a large pan, and once hot, gently place the dumplings into the pan. Try and stand them up. But don’t crowd the pan, you may need to cook them in two batches.
  • These will stick to the pan at first, but don’t panic! Once they’ve had a chance to cook for a minute or two they will stop sticking. Then you will be able to gently turn them onto one side until lightly browned, and repeat on the other side. They will stick on each side until they start cooking, at which point they unstick as they crisp up.
  • BE WARNED: Once the Gyoza start to brown, you may notice the oil will start spitting quite a lot. You’re going to want to get some sort of spit guard, or use the lid of the pan to stop the oil from spitting everywhere. Unfortunately no matter what oil we used the result was the same.
  • Once all of the dumplings are lightly browned, tip in the 1/4 cup of water, or more as needed to create a thin layer of bubbling water in the pan and cover it.
  • Allow the dumplings to steam for up to 4 mins. Then fish one out and cut it open to see if the mince is thoroughly cooked. If it is, remove the rest from the pan. They might start to stick again, so be gentle!
  • Serve with your preferred dipping sauce!
20 thoughts on “Gyoza (GF, DF)

  1. I have always wanted to try these but they seem so labor intensive. They look yummy though. I do miss dumplings! You could probably use guar gum in place of the xantham gum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

