Biscuits · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Cantuccini (GF, DF)

cantuccini

Hello, hello, hello!

This weekend has been a bit of a whirlwind! My parents are out of town and so I’m looking after the house. I’m being rather strict about keeping it all in-line, but I find when I have so much room to spread out, I really spread out. So yesterday while doing a few loads of washing and some general tidying up I decided I’d like to give making gluten-free croissants from scratch another go. You might not know this, but gluten-free from-scratch croissants are my Everest. I have been through a ton of recipes and have yet to find one that tastes, has the right texture of, or is even remotely close to a croissant.

Because I am a glutton for punishment I picked two recipes from the Free From Magazine series, in the hopes that they would work out better than past attempts. In one case the dough did come together perfectly, rose better than any other yeasted dough I have ever made, and the other made such a perfectly sized amount of dough I could evenly divide it into eight equal parts by weight as the recipe required. Sadly, neither recipe got much further than that. Unfortunately I have yet to find a dough recipe that rolls or folds well, or even tastes nice once cooked. I have tried some very well known gluten-free croissant recipes from famous gluten-free bloggers and authors, with tips and tricks from both the internet and other bakers alike, and still not had any success. I often find I have problems with finding the ingredients the more well know recipes use, and as readers will know I’m not a fan of recipes that require oodles of cash or many moons scouring the internet to get the ingredients for. But it was still a good learning experience to try these two recipes this weekend, and I am still extremely proud of how well the first batch of dough rose!

Let me know what is your Everest? What dish/dishes have you been whittling away at, attempting to find the perfect mix?

And again, because I am a glutton for punishment, I decided to try yet another new recipe for blogging purposes after the ongoing croissant wars. This Cantuccini recipe is very simple, but it makes a very delicious and nutty biscuit that’s perfect with a good cup of tea! I replaced the butter with nuttelex to make it dairy free, and also tried it with a 1 for 1 swap with hazelnut meal so that I could pair it with the leftover hazelnuts sitting in the pantry. But I would recommend giving the almond version a go first! Yum!

Happy Fiesta Friday!

Free From Heaven Magazine’s

Cantuccini

Makes: 20-24, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 45 mins

Ingredients

  • 150g almond meal (or hazelnut meal)
  • 175g gluten-free plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum (omit of flour blend already contains it, the dough is less crumbly with this added in)
  • 1 tsp gluten-free baking powder
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp almond extract (Or vanilla extract)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp butter (Or nuttelex, or another dairy free spread), melted
  • 125 pecans (or hazelnuts), roughly chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 150C, and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients together, except the nuts.
  3. Whisk together all the wet ingredients, and then combine with the dry.
  4. Add in the chopped nuts, and mix again until a dough forms.
  5. Divide the dough in half, and form into two logs about 30cm long and 7cm wide. Or as close to that as your logs can get.
  6. If your dough is too sticky to handle, very lightly dust your hands with gluten-free plain flour and try again.
  7. Place the two logs into the baking tray, and bake for 25 mins.
  8. Remove from the oven, leaving the oven on, and cool for 10 mins.
  9. Slice up the logs diagonally, laying the pieces on one side, and pop them back into the oven for 10 mins.
  10. Turn the cantuccini over and bake for a further 10 mins or until golden and crisp.
  11. Remove and place on wire racks to cool altogether.
  12. Serve with a good drink for dunking them in!

23 thoughts on “Cantuccini (GF, DF)

  1. My Everest has to be pancakes- have tried everything. No nut meals because of allergies- boo! But your recipe looks delicious.

    Like

      1. gluten dairy and nuts. I’m looking for a pancake recipe that actually looks and tastes like pancakes. No worries!

        Like

  2. Not at all familiar with cantuccini, well, not that I can remember. These sound delicious. I know waht you man about trying to get a recipe “right”. For a long time, I tried to perfect a ravioli recipe for a now-GF family member. I eventually gave up because she grew so sensitive to gluten that I would have to buy all new pasta equipment to continue testing. 😦

    Like

  3. I love your use of hazelnut flour, Nell. I imagine the flavor it offers is outstanding! Too bad about your croissants. Bravo to you for your try, try again mentality… I’m sure you’ll eventually reach the summit of gluten free croissant perfection!
    Thanks for sharing your cantuccini with the partiers at Fiesta Friday!

    Like

  4. I made cantucchi at an Italian cooking class a few years ago but lost the recipe! Your timing is amazing and the cantucchi looks so good, For me i just need a strong coffee to dunk them in for that Italian feel! 🙂 Happy FF!

    Like

      1. hi Nell
        It was a great class, the teacher was so good. I got a bunch of recipes but I have to admit until now when I actually cooked Italian. A class is always great fun and a great source of inspiration! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

