Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Soup · Weeknight Mains

Roasted Tomato Soup (GF, DF)

roasted tomato soup

Hello, hello, hello!

It looked like the weather might have been starting to warm up at one point there. But lo and behold we are straight back to freezing cold winds and rain all around this week. Or at least a lot of rain where I work and where I live! But because it was cold that gave me the idea to give another soup recipe a go. I am a big fan of tomato soup although I don’t eat it that often. I loved this particular tomato soup-for-one I could get at our local supermarket but haven’t been able to find it in a long, long time. It seems like the company doesn’t make it anymore, and have replaced it with condensed tomato soup instead. Yuck! No matter how you make it condensed soup always tastes awful to me.

So when I was looking for tomato soup recipes I was delighted to find one that used roasted tomatoes! I knew that would give it that extra hint of flavour that I had been looking for. Unfortunately I couldn’t find Roma tomatoes at our supermarket and so I used truss instead. Truss are a little more expensive, but at this stage the price was the same for truss or large tomatoes which is all that was available. This recipe is incredibly simple. You can make it even simpler through boiling some of the ingredients at time as roasting the tomatoes. I came home late in the middle of the week and still had time to put this soup together by doing that. It was delicious! As per usual I added a little bit of extra flavour with some gluten free Worcestershire sauce, and some extra pepper. So feel free to customise!

Happy Fiesta Friday!

Adapted from Taste.com.au’s

Roasted Tomato Soup

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 10-15 minutes, Cook: 25-30 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 kg Roma tomatoes, halved (I used Truss)
  • ½ tsp minced garlic
  • 1 generous splash of Worcestershire sauce, gluten-free
  • 1 brown onion, finely diced
  • 200g Sebago potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cups vegetable stock (I used Massel’s gluten-free, salt reduced stock)
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • A sprinkling of dried rosemary, salt and pepper
  • Oil for cooking.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 220C.
  2. Place the tomatoes onto a lined baking dish and sprinkle with dried rosemary, salt and pepper. Set aside. I didn’t place them in any particular way – i.e. cut-side up, etc, I just popped them on the tray.
  3. Pop oil, the garlic, onion and potato into a soup pot or stock pot, or very large saucepan and cook for five minutes or so.
  4. Add the tomato paste and stir until it has spread out and coated the potato and onion mix. Then add the sugar, stock and water and stir thoroughly.
  5. Bring up to the boil and then reduce heat so that the mix is still boiling, but not quite as vigorously. You want the potatoes to cook, but not for all the liquid to be boiled away. So to that end cover the dish.
  6. As soon as the other dish is covered pop the tomatoes into the oven and set a timer for 15 minutes.
  7. Test the potatoes once the 15 minutes is up. If they still need more time then keep on boiling. But you may need to remove the tomatoes from the oven if they look like they’re going to burn. Otherwise, remove the tomatoes from the oven now and slide them into the dish with the potatoes.
  8. Stir the mixture around for a minute or two more. Don’t be afraid to be rough to the tomatoes!
  9. Blend the mixture until smooth, adding in the Worcestershire sauce a little at a time and taste-testing. If it needs more salt, pepper or rosemary  add it now.
  10. Once satisfied, EAT!

 

15 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Soup (GF, DF)

  1. There is something very soothing and delicious about tomato soup and this recipe looks great! Thank you for bringing this to Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love tomato soup and I have a few varieties I make but never with roasted tomatoes. I even keep a few cans of tomato soup on hand as I never tire of eating it. Thanks for a new version for me and bringing your soup to Fiesta Friday 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

