Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Weeknight Mains

Mongolian Beef (GF, DF)

mongolianbeef

Hello, hello, hello!

I have some exciting news, and some sad news! The first exciting news is that I received a notice saying that my four-year blogiversary had come up this week! It came out of the blue, as I haven’t been following those dates that closely. But it was a delightful reminder that I have been a part of such a wonderful community for so many years now. I have really grown through this blog, explored my interests and come to know a lot more about my body and my dietary needs. I’ve met some amazing people, learned some excellent things, and generally had a wonderful time. So of course I had to make a dish I’ve loved for years to mark this auspicious occasion!

It also served to cheer me up this morning, given this is the first time I’ve had from scratch, gluten-free Mongolian! The sad news is that our old family cat doesn’t look to be very well, and we’ve had a serious discussion about some hard decisions we might have to make this week. Whatever we do, we want to do what’s best for her. So even if it pains us, if she’s going to lose her good quality of life we’ll be taking her to the vet and making our final farewells. It’s been a hard thing to have to face, as we’ve had Rosie ever since I was a little girl. But because we love her so much we’d never make her suffer. So when the time comes we know we’ll be able to do what’s right for her.

So, it’s been a week of ups and downs. But through it all I have gained so much, had lots of good laughs with friends, learned some excellent new dance steps, and felt incredibly loved and well looked after by everybody who immediately came to my side when I was frightened and upset over Rosie. I am blessed, and I’m so glad that I have such brilliant people around me.

Happy FF!

Adapted from ChowDivine.com’s

Healthier Mongolian Beef

Serves: 1-2, Prep: 10 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 250g beef tenderloin, thinly sliced against the grain (or use another thin cut of meat)
  • 1-2 tbsp cornflour, gluten-free (optional)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp ginger, grated
  • 5 – 6 tbsp soy-reduced Tamari (or any other gluten-free soy sauce)
  • 3 tbsp coconut sugar
  • 2 tsp dry sherry
  • 4 tablespoon water*
  • A handful of shallots, green part only, diced into 2 inch pieces
  • Oil for cooking
  • Steamed rice, to serve.

NOTE: Use water only if using cornflour.

Method

  1. Combine the soy, sugar, sherry and water (if using the cornflour), and set aside.
  2. Heat the oil in the pan.
  3. While the oil is heating, gently toss the pieces of beef in the cornflour, and shake off any excess. You don’t want a batter, just a light dusting.
  4. Add the garlic and the ginger to the pan and fry until fragrant.
  5. Add the beef and saute until gently browned and cooked, then add in the sauce.
  6. Bring up to the boil, then reduce the heat a little until it’s still boiling but not as vigorously. Stir gently, until the sauce has thickened somewhat and is coating the meat.
  7. Add in the shallots, stir, and immediately remove from the heat and serve with rice!
27 thoughts on “Mongolian Beef (GF, DF)

  1. Oh Nell, my heart goes out to you. We had to make some serious decisions about our beloved Wolfie in May of 2015. He was almost 21 years old and one of the greatest loves of my life. Please find peace in knowing that we showered our furry kids with love & gave them fabulous lives. Until we meet again ♥ On a lighter note, what a fabulous recipe & Congratulations!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m sorry to hear about your cat! My cat is still with us for now. The vet told us only to bring her in if she’s in pain and we need to put her down to make sure she doesn’t suffer, otherwise it’s okay to let her be at peace at home.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Four years! Congratulations!! It’s quite something to have blogged for so long, and such a journey of exploring gluten and dairy-free options. I’m so sorry to hear about Rosie. It’s not easy, but it is done in her best interests. Take care 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s heart breaking to have to say goodbye to a dear furry friend! Wishing you lots of strength for the event. Thank you for sharing on Fiesta Friday and being so open with your emotions…and for this lovely recipe. Oh, and happy 4 years…that’s huge!!!

    Like

  4. Four years, that’s amazing. Congratulations. I’m sorry to hear about Rosie, I know if anything happened to Naru, our 12 1/2 black lab, I’d be devastated, but I think it’s unfair to hold onto them too tightly. They shouldn’t have to suffer to stay with us. I hope I’ll still be here in four years, hopefully I’ll have caught up to everyone too. I still feel like new new kid, the very old new kid. Thank you for your continued support.

    Like

  5. My blog turned 3 years few months ago, too, but I haven’t talked or celebrated it. I completely lost track of time. This is a good way to celebrate your 4 years of blogging, Nell. It is really nice to be one of your blogging friends. Congrats on the anniversary. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

