Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc Savouries

Somewhat Leek-ish Quiche (GF, Optional DF)

leekquiche

Hello, hello, hello!

Continuing the trend of following the Free-From Magazine series, I was flicking through some older issues when I found this recipe for Leek Quiche. I was immediately intrigued, as I am a huge fan of quiche but often find it very difficult to find recipes for pastry that don’t involve a myriad of expensive and hard to find flours. This particular recipe looked incredibly straightforward, and would give me a chance to try out the newest Nuttelex product, a dairy-free, gluten-free, often kosher spread, but which this time includes coconut oil. I was very curious to see whether it would work better in baking than the other version of Nuttelex I often use.

It’s been quite a hectic week this week, full to the brim with dancing! I had a class on Tuesday, went to a Practica session of Argentinian Tango with a new friend, and had a dance social for my dance school on the Friday! I am thoroughly danced out! But it was lots of fun to go to the Argentitnian tango night even if I didn’t know any steps. Everyone was very friendly and by the end of the night I could at least go forwards and sideways, and my biceps got an excellent workout from leading. I learn to both lead and follow, so that no matter where I am I can dance. But at my dance social I stuck to following, and had an absolute blast there too.

I made some alterations to the recipe, and used the leftover filling to make mini quiches. So this recipe goes quite far!

Happy FF!

Adapted Free From Heaven’s

Leek Quiche

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 30-35 mins + chilling, Cook: 35-40 mins, plus time for the filling

Pastry

  • 225g gluten-free plain flour +extra for dusting
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1006 dairy free margerine (I used Nuttelex with coconut oil)
  • 1 x egg
  • 1-2 tbsp cold water

Filling

  • Oil, for cooking
  • 1 x leeks, white and light green parts only, thinly sliced
  • A handful of cherry tomatoes, diced
  • 170g bacon, thinly diced
  • 1 pinch grated nutmeg
  • 300ml pouring cream/soya cream for dairy free
  • 5-6 x eggs, beaten
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 200g pizza cheese/soya or lactose free cheese
  • 1 generous splash of gluten free worcestershire sauce

Note: With leftover filling, I put slices of gluten-free bread into muffin tins, pop the leftover filling in and baked them at 180C until cooked. Or you can make then as crustless mini quiches.

Method

  1. For the pastry, put the flour and salt in a mixing bowl. Rub in the margarine until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  2. Stir in the egg and enough water to form a soft dough, adding half a tablespoon at a time.
  3. Knead well until smooth, then wrap in clingfilm and chill for 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 200°C and Grease a 20cm (8in) flan tin or quiche dish. You’ll want to remote the pastry and let it warm up a little bit, at least so it’s not stiff. If it’s too stiff it’ll crack and split when you try to roll it, but you can easily shape it back together.
  5. Roll out the pastry on a floured surface until it forms a large, thin circle about an inch wider than the tin, then use it to line the tin.
  6. Prick the pastry base, chill for a further 5-10 mins just to allow it to firm up and help prevent shrinking, and then blind bake for 5 minutes and set aside.
  7. Reduce the oven temperature to 180°C.
  8. For the filling, heat the oil in a frying pan and gently cook the leeks for 8-10 minutes, until soft. Add the bacon and tomatoes to the pan and cook, stirring, for about 4 minutes or until cooked.
  9. Beat together the nutmeg, worcestershire sauce, cream, eggs, cheese and salt until blended.
  10. Add the leek mixture to the base, then top with the egg and cheese mixture.
  11. Bake for 25-35 minutes, until the filling is set and the pastry is golden. Serve warm.

 

18 thoughts on “Somewhat Leek-ish Quiche (GF, Optional DF)

  1. Leek Quiche is one of my favorite savory. Yours looks amazing, love how thick it is an the crust looks perfect. I have never danced Tango before but I love to listen the music (my favorite composer is Astor Piazzolla)! Thank you for bringing this recipe to the Fiesta! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! 🙂 the original recipe had triple the leeks I used, but in such a small quiche I found one was more than enough for me texture wise. But I’m thinking it’d be nice to semi blend the leek just to get it even finer 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there! I get mine from the supermarket, either Woolworth or Coles. There are a few non-dairy margarines but I like Nuttelex the best. 🙂 I think other people also use coconut oil or other non-dairy spreads. I think a lot of allergy friendly stores stock other kinds as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

