Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Soup · Weeknight Mains

Indian Curried Pumpkin Soup (GF)

indianpumpkinsoup

Hello, hello, hello!

It’s definitely soup season here. It’s been getting colder and colder. It even rained last weekend! I’ve had to dig out the old winter wardrobe and go through and see what still fits and what isn’t so threadbare I should have thrown it out a few seasons ago. In the past I often bought a lot of uncomfortable clothes because that was all I could get without spending a lot of cash and then I didn’t tend to shop much afterwards. However, I have made the decision this time around to get clothes that fit well and that are comfortable, even if it means not getting them quite so cheaply.

But while this has meant forking out for pants that fit well, and are long enough in the leg to make sure my ankles don’t get frostbite, it seems as though I won’t have to do the same for tops. A brand new Vinnies has opened up about ten minutes from where I live!  It opened not two weeks ago, and it’s glorious. It’s everything I want a secondhand shop to be. Cheap, clean, well-organised and not crowded, with unique items, it supports a good cause and it keeps proper shop hours! Lately it’s been harder to get to the secondhand shops because they all close earlier than I can leave work, or are only open till late lunchtime on Saturdays. But this newest Vinnies is open later on weekdays and on both Saturday and Sunday!

I have also managed to donate a whole plethora of things to the new Vinnies, as I did a large cull of almost all the things I own when I bought in the new winter clothes. As a rule of thumb I put one or two things out when I bring new things in. It stops me from hoarding things that I won’t use often, and means other people will get to use them instead. And I decided to be harsh when it came to props. All the things I collect to use for this blog are also a part of a harlequin set that I use to eat and drink with in general, so I kept track of what I was and wasn’t using and have managed to donate quite a lot more than I was expecting to be able to.

De-cluttering is very soothing, and it’s something good to do when it’s rainy and dark outside and far too cold to go adventuring! And yes, that is indeed a gluten-free ciabatta roll! Watch this space for a brand review! Happy FF!

Coles’

Indian Curried Pumpkin Soup

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 40-45 mins

Ingredients

  • Oil for cooking
  • 1 brown onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1/4 cup/75g korma curry paste, gluten-free
  • 800g Butternut Pumpkin, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 1 granny smith apple, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1/2 cup/100g red lentils
  • 4 cups/1 L chicken or vegetable stock, gluten-free

Toppings

  • Greek style yoghurt
  • Lebanese cucumber, finely chopped
  • Tomato, finely chopped
  • Red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds, toasted
  • Coriander and mini pappadams, to serve

Method

  1. Heat the oil in a stock pan, and brown the onion.
  2. Add the ginger and curry paste and cook for 1 min, stirring, or until fragrant.
  3. Add the pumpkin, carrot, apple, lentils and stock and stir.
  4. Bring up to the boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 30-35 mins or until the vegetables are tender.
  5. Either tip the soup into a blender and blend, or use an immersion blender, or an immersion blender and a potato masher, to thoroughly mash and blend the soup until smooth.
  6. Divide among serving bowls and top with any of your preferred toppings, and serve.
11 thoughts on “Indian Curried Pumpkin Soup (GF)

  1. The pumpkin soup looks great. I kind of prefer leaving out the red lentils when making soup, until and unless it is a lentil soup. Thanks for bringing this to the fiesta, Nell! Have fun! 🙂

    Like

      1. I do like lentils, in lentil soup/ curry/ fritters etc. but not in another soup as I feel it interferes with the flavour of the key vegetable in the soup. I guess it depends on whether one likes its added flavour and texture or not.

        Like

Leave a Reply

