Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Soup · Vegan

Thai-Spiced Leek and Potato Soup (GF, Vegan)

leekandpotatosoupJPG

Hello, hello, hello!

It’s definitely becoming soup season here, although some days are still quite warm. I’ve also been fighting an ongoing battle with hay fever, and have been generally under the weather as a result. So that’s also an excellent reason to make some soup! Unfortunately we think I was developing hay fever before I went to get my travel shots for my upcoming trip, and my flu shot, and I wore myself down too much running around and getting ready for my appointment. But I think I’m on the mend, and all the soups and warm, delicious meals I’ve been eating have definitely helped!

Lately I’ve been trying to explore more food blogs, to find new savoury recipes, and to generally explore the food web a little more. I have stumbled across some fantastic websites, with some very delicious recipes as a result. I stumbled across this recipe for thai-spiced potato leek soup at Healthy Nibbles and Bits and new immediately that I had to make it. The photography was stunning, the ingredients were all easily accessed and affordable, and I was keen to add a new kind of recipe to my repertoire.

I did make a few alternations to this recipe, however. I upped the spices, the family added Worcestershire sauce – gluten free, of course, and I also believe it’s even better with bacon. But that’s what I like about this recipe, it can be customised. I also loved the final texture. Smooth, but still a little bit grainy. Yum!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Healthy Nibbles and Bits’

Thai-Spiced Potato Leek Soup

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 35-40 mins

Ingredients

  • 450g leeks, white and light green parts only
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1-2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2-3 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp lemongrass paste
  • 1 dash Worcestershire sauce, gluten free
  • 1 Thai chili, thinly sliced (optional)
  • 2-3 rashers of bacon, diced and cooked (Optional)
  • 900g potatoes, peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 5 cups vegetable stock, gluten free (I used Massels)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • Optional toppings: parsley, chopped pistachios, etc

Method

  1. Trims the ends of the leeks, then slice them in half lengthwise. Fan them out slightly as you run them under water to clean out any dirt. Then chopped them into 1/4 inch thick chunks.
  2. Heat oil in your soup pot, then add the leeks and cook, stirring, until the leeks have softened. About 8 mins.
  3. Add the garlic, ginger, lemongrass and thai chilli and mix well.
  4. Add the potato chunks, the bacon – if using, the Worcestershire and the stock, and bring up to the boil.
  5. Reduce heat and simmer soup, covered, for up to 20 mins, or until the potatoes are soft when you prick them with a fork.
  6. Turn off the heat.
  7. Either put the soup into a blender and blend until smooth, or use an immersion blender to blitz the soup. If you have any difficult potato chunks you can use a potato masher like I did.
  8. Serve hot.
28 thoughts on “Thai-Spiced Leek and Potato Soup (GF, Vegan)

  1. Thanks for the visit to my site. The leak recipe looks tempting. I even have some leaks that need to be harvested. BTW, it is getting colder where you are? Are you south of the equator?

    Like

Leave a Reply

