Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Savoury Snacks

Kolač od šunke – Ham Cake (GF)

kolacodsunkeJPG

Hello all!

As readers will be aware, I’ve been making an effort to make more savouries, expand my skills, and try not to make quite so many sweet or unhealthy things. An occasional treat is alright, but when you’re making new things to write about each week it can get excessive. And I’m certainly finding these savoury dishes new, fun and interesting. It’s given me ideas for things I can take to friend’s houses when I’m invited out, and it’s been interesting researching and looking for more savoury things to cook.

I was short on time last weekend, as I needed to go out and do some shopping for a new chair, pick up this and that, and prepare for the next week of work. So rather than attempting a large meal, I thought I would try a recipe for a treat I hadn’t seen before until I stumbled over it the other day. The addition of the cloves made for a very interesting flavour, and its made me eager to see if any of you have any recipes that you’d like to share! It’s not as easy for me as I’d like to find recipes from around the world, short of going to sbs food, so if you have any, please let me know!

I thoroughly encourage everyone to go and visit the original blog site – He Needs Food – because it’s a beautiful blog, and their photography and recipes are fantastic. I had a lot of fun making an adaptation of their version of this particular recipe, and I loved reading about where they got it from. So please do pay them a visit!

Happy FF!

Adapted from He Needs Food’s

Kolač od šunke

Makes: 12 cupcakes, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 200g gluten free plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp ground cloves
  • ½ tsp each of salt and black pepper
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, slightly softened
  • 60 g parmesan cheese, grated, plus extra to garnish
  • 400 g bacon, cooked and finely chopped
  • ½ cup parsley, chopped
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • ½ cup milk
  • 80 ml virgin olive oil

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C, and line a cupcake tin with patty pans, or spray with olive oil.
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, cloves, salt, pepper and butter in a bowl. It’s okay if there are little flecks of butter not quite mixed in.
  3. Add the parmesan, bacon and parsley and mix.
  4. Combine the eggs, milk and olive oil in a seperate bowl and then add to the main mixture. Combine.
  5. Fill each patty pan about 3/4 full, and then sprinkle with extra parmesan.
  6. Bake for 15-20 mins, or until browned on top and a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.
  7. Remove from the tin so the cupcakes don’t sweat, and serve warm.
11 thoughts on “Kolač od šunke – Ham Cake (GF)

Leave a Reply

