Cupcakes and Muffins · Experiments · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Little Pumpkin Damper (GF)

pumpkincupcakes

Hello, hello, hello! As I mentioned in previous posts, I used the easter long weekend to give a whole range of new recipes a go. And time willing I have been able to sit down and actually put them into posts! Now, as my readers may not know I actually prefer to adapt recipes to be gluten-free, rather than go for ones that are already made to be so. This might simply be because I don’t have a good knack for finding reliable recipes when I scour the internet. Often what I think looks good and turns out to require a lot of tweaking to become palatable. And sometimes that be very fun, but other times it can be exhausting!

I thought that the Australian Women’s Weekly wouldn’t let me down in this regard, and I certainly don’t feel like their recipe was at fault. But when I tried to make their little pumpkin dampers my mixture was so outrageously wet that it was more like a cupcake batter. So I resolved to make little pumpkin cupcakes instead! I think this may be because my pumpkin was extremely moist, and I didn’t have exactly 750g worth of it. Although sadly even adding extra flour couldn’t do much to alter the texture of the mix, so I was glad it worked so well as cupcakes. The final result was lovely and moist, and perfect with a smear of butter while warm!

But I still wanted to post about this recipe, even if it didn’t even vaguely work out as it should, to show people what I do when I end up with a recipe failure. Don’t let yourself get disheartened when something doesn’t work out like you’d like it to. With a little patience, and a little imagination, you can often turn these things around!

And while my final product was not even vaguely close to being damper, like the original recipe, it’s been a lesson learned! So I’ll post the original recipe here, as it may work a bit better for others. But I’ll also add below my altered version to show what I did.

Happy FF!

The Australian Women’s Weekly

Little Pumpkin Damper

Makes: 8 damper, Prep: 35-40 mins, Cook: 20mins

Ingredients

  • 750g butternut pumpkin, peeled, chopped
  • 80g butter, softened
  • eggs
  • 2 cups gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 2 tsp sea salt flakes
  • 2 tbsp milk, approximately
  • Poppy seeds, to decorate

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 200C and line a baking tray with baking paper.
  • Either steam, boil or microwave the pumpkin until soft. Then mash thoroughly and leave to cool to room temperature.
  • Beat the butter until smooth and fluffy, then beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  • Stir through the mashed pumpkin.
  • Add in the flour, salt, and enough milk to form a dough. Then turn the dough out onto a floured surface and gently knead together.
  • Divide the dough into 8 pieces, then shape them into rounds and put them on the tray.
  • Score a cross in the top of each round, brush with milk, and then sprinkle with poppy seeds.
  • Bake for 20 mins or until browned on top, and they sound hollow when tapped.
  • Serve warm with butter, or golden syrup if so desired.

 

NOTES: What I changed.

Makes: 12 Cupcakes, Prep: 35-40 mins, Cook: 25-30 mins

Ingredients

  • 750-770g butternut pumpkin, peeled, chopped
  • 80g butter, softened
  • eggs
  • 2 cups  gluten-free self-raising flour, plus extra if needed
  • 2 tsp sea salt flakes
  • 1 tbsp milk, approximately
  • Poppy seeds, to decorate

Method

  • Pre-heat oven to 180C and line a cupcake tin with patty pans and spray with oil.
  • Either steam, boil or microwave the pumpkin until soft. Then mash thoroughly and leave to cool to room temperature.
  • Beat the butter until smooth and fluffy, then beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  • Stir through the mashed pumpkin.
  • Add in the flour, salt, and milk. If the mixture is still far too runny, you can add a few tablespoons extra of flour.
  • Using a cookie scoop, or spoon, gently spoon the mixture into the patty pans until about 3/4 full.
  • Sprinkle the tops of the cupcakes with poppy seeds, then bake for 25-30 mins or until a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean. A few moist crumbs is okay.
  • Serve warm with butter, or golden syrup if so desired.
4 thoughts on “Little Pumpkin Damper (GF)

  1. Looks great and I love the story Nell – only yesterday I found myself following a recipe apple cake that I decided to turn into muffins and they turned out so far off how I planned! You’ve inspired me to still post the recipe….

    Like

Leave a Reply

