Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Hot Cross Buns (GF, DF) – Second Batch

hotcrossbuns2015edition

Hello, hello, hello! As my readers will be aware, for the easter long weekend I decided to put together a whole lot of recipes for my blog. But because I was determined to make hot cross buns from scratch, I also decided that rather than choosing between the two recipes I liked I would make them both. It worked out very well in the end. As this recipe is a much longer project than the other hot cross buns, and required a lot more resting time, I was able to put it aside at points while working on the other batch.

I have to say, out of the two recipes this was probably the crowd favourite. It was less sweet, as the jam wasn’t quite so intense a flavour or hit of sugary sweetness as the golden syrup was. I also preferred this recipe because I loved the feeling of the yeast-risen dough, which was soft and fluffy and just generally pleasant to handle. I think this was probably the best work I’ve done with yeast to date, and I was very pleased at how well the dough fluffed up.

I have to say, these recipes also gave me a very favourable impression of the Free-From Heaven Magazine. At first I might have been a little dubious of it, because from what I had heard it was one of those magazines that would require me going to dozens of different shops just to get the right ingredients. But it really wasn’t the case. All the things I needed for both of the hot cross bun recipes could be found at my regular supermarkets, although I can appreciate how some ingredients are harder to find in other places than here. So I’m looking forward to investigating more recipes from them at some point in the future!

Happy FF!

Free-From Magazine’s 2015 Edition

Hot Cross Buns

Makes: 15, Prep: 25mins + 2hrs proving time, Cook: 15-20 mins

Bun Ingredients

  • 350ml soy milk
  • 50g dairy-free margarine or butter (I used Nuttelex)
  • 1 free-range egg, beaten
  • 500g gluten-free plain flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 1⁄2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 1⁄2 tsp fast-action yeast (I used Tandaco)
  • 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 75g sultanas
  • 50g mixed peel (Optional)
  • finely grated zest of 1 orange
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1⁄2 tsp cinnamon

Cross Ingredients

  • 75g gluten-free plain flour
  • Up to 5 tbsp water

Glaze Ingredients

  • 3-4 tbsp apricot jam, warmed

 

Method

  1. For the buns, sift the flour into a bowl and add the salt, sugar, yeast and xantham gum.
  2. Heat the soy milk and margarine until the mixture is warm to the touch.
  3. Add the milk mix and beaten egg to the flour mixture, then bring together with a wooden spoon.
  4. Place the dough in a bowl, covered with clingfilm, then leave in a warm place for 1 hour or until doubled in size.
  5. To create my warm place, I heated a cup of water in the microwave for a minute or two and then quickly popped the bowl into the microwave with the cup. But you can use other methods.
  6. After that first rise, add the oil, sultanas, mixed peel, orange zest, mixed spice and cinnamon and mix through.
  7. Cover with clingfilm again and leave in a warm place for a further hour or until it has doubled in size again.
  8. When the dough has about half an hour or twenty minutes to go, preheat the oven to 180C.
  9. Shape the dough into 15 pieces and place on a baking sheet.
  10. Mix the extra flour and a little water to a form a smooth paste. Like with the previous hot cross buns recipe, pop the cross mixture into a ziplock bag and cut a very small part of the corner off to make your piping bag.
  11. Pipe the mixture onto the buns as a cross.
  12. Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.
  13. Bush the jam over the top of the warm buns and leave to cool.

 

4 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns (GF, DF) – Second Batch

  1. Fantastic Nell! I can’t believe that these are actually gluten free! I’m also so impressed that you tried two different recipes to figure out which one works the best. And oh no, I’ve realized that I haven’t had any hot cross buns this year either 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

