Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Strawberry Nice-Cream (GF)

strawberry nicecream

Good afternoon all! I’ve been having a lot of fun working on some savoury treats and eats this year. But it has brought to my attention that it’s also possible to create some delicious treats without needing to pack them full of things that aren’t so great for you. My preferred version of these treats are also ones that require minimal preparation and not too many complicated ingredients. In particular, as it’s been so hot here lately, I’ve also been focusing on some treats that are nice and cold and refreshing.

As my readers will know from earlier posts, I am very much a part of the banana ice-cream, (or nice-cream) bandwagon. This nifty little dessert has really made it easy to both eat the fruit I haven’t been eating lately, and to get rid of some pesky cravings for something cold and sweet. I have in fact been making this treat for quite a while, but haven’t had the chance to set some aside for long enough to take a photo of it. So this afternoon I was determined to do just that!

I made this recipe through trial and error. Mostly error. As I, like a lot of people, would prefer my nice-cream to taste of things other than banana. But I love this treat, and it certainly hits the spot! Happy FF!

Nell’s

Strawberry Nice-Cream

Serves: 1, Prep: 10-15 minutes + overnight freezing time for ingredients

Ingredients

  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1 – 1 1/4 cups strawberries, sliced and frozen
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tbsp greek yoghurt
  • A drizzling of maple syrup (Optional, feel free to remove it or swap it out for another sweetener)

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.
  2. NOTE: It will have a soft serve like consistency once blended.
  3. If you want it firm, pop the whole lot into an airtight container and chill in the freezer for up to half an hour. Otherwise serve immediately.
16 thoughts on “Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Strawberry Nice-Cream (GF)

  1. This is indeed a very easy, no-fuss recipe for a delicious nice-cream, Nell. I love my ice cream a little soft, so I’d go with the soft serve. 😀 Thanks for sharing at this week’s FF. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

