Curries · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Lamb

Simple Lamb Curry (GF, DF)

quick lamb curry

Hello, hello, hello! As my followers might know by now, I am a curry fiend. I love curry. I love curry from all over the world – although especially from India. Northern or southern style, I will take either. Which may seem strange to say, as I am also a wimp when it comes to chilli. I will certainly eat hot dishes, but you will notice my eyes streaming! I used to have a much higher tolerance for spiciness, and I’m hoping to get it back! However, I can also be very particular about the texture and taste of the curry. I like it thick. I like it rich and saucy – brimming with strong flavours! So while I loved, loved, loved the flavour of this curry, the texture was not particularly to my liking.

However, the reason I have put this recipe up here despite that is because it was a smash hit. When I did consider remaking it with my preferred texture, which is much thicker, the family protested immensely. As it turned out my beloved taste testers all loved the curry and didn’t want me to change it at all! Especially not when I kept it more mild for them and made sure not to cut back on the peas despite them being one of my least favourite vegetables. Although I have found this has happened before. I am very particular about how I like my dishes, so often when I’m not sure whether a dish will be a hit or not, I see people going back for seconds and thirds! It’s a relief, I can tell you! As I still wouldn’t call myself a masterchef when it comes to mains at all!

If I was making this curry again I would be tempted to reduce the liquid, and keep the peas out of the equation altogether. However, for people who are happy with lots of sauce, and who don’t mind peas, this curry is perfect. It’s also very simple, and in my case it was a great way to use up leftover massaman curry paste. So although this curry wasn’t perfect for me it is definitely a big hit with the family and I’ve been told it would be happily received should I make it again. Peas and all! I think it would be great for potluck too as it seems to stretch quite well – especially when served with sides like rice!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Delicious magazine’s

Simple Lamb Curry

Serves: 4-6, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 1hr plus

Ingredients

  • 30ml/1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 600g diced lamb
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp massaman curry paste (or 2 tbsp if you like it hotter)
  • 2 kaffir lime leaves
  • 250ml/1 cup gluten free beef stock
  • 150ml coconut cream
  • 2 tsp gluten free fish sauce
  • 1 carrot, peeled, chopped
  • 2 pontiac or desiree potatoes, peeled, cut into chunks
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen peas
  • 2 tbsp chopped coriander
  • Steamed Rice, to serve

Method

  • Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a pan over high heat and brown the meat in batches, then set aside.
  • Heat remaining oil in pan, add the onion and cook over low heat for 5 minutes or until softened.
  • Add curry paste and lime leaves, and cook for 30 seconds.
  • Return the meat to the pan, stirring, then add the stock, coconut cream, fish sauce, potatoes and carrot.
  • Add enough water to just cover the meat – or add a mixture of more stock and coconut cream if you don’t want to reduce the flavour too much
  • Bring to the boil, then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  • Cook uncovered, for a further 20 minutes.
  • Stir in the peas and half the coriander and cook for 5 minutes.
  • Serve with rice and garnish with the remaining coriander.
19 thoughts on “Simple Lamb Curry (GF, DF)

  1. Love this! I was out for dinner with friends last weekend and I mentioned that I’ve a new favorite Indian restaurant. I’ve been working my way through their lamb dishes but am now stalled on their lamb curry. I saw no reason to keep searching. Now, however, I can make it for myself and cannot wait to give your recipe a try. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

