Beef · Fiesta Friday · Pasta

Beef Ragu Pasta (GF)

beef ragu

Hello, hello, hello! I hope that you all had a lovely holiday, and aren’t too unhappy that you’re back at work! If you are back at work at the moment like I am! I have decided that for this new year I am going to take the time to make more time for the things I have wanted to do in the past. I am going to be starting a beginner’s dance class with a friend, and I am trying new dinner recipes to ensure that I don’t end up having to rely on takeaway and the like to get me through the week. I’ve enjoyed doing that in particular immensely.

This post is both due to that, and also due to my having discovered an amazing mince cookbook called Mincespiration, by Dean Edwards. As I have had several years of dental work applied to my teeth, they’re no longer quite as sturdy as they once were. It does mean I can’t chew through tougher meats, for example steak – unless very, very thinly sliced, might as well be solid concrete as far as my poor teeth are concerned. So I love slow cook meats, and using mince when I’m in a hurry.

Naturally I couldn’t go far past this recipe for beef ragu pasta, as it looked absolutely delicious, and ragu sauce is one of my absolute favourite pasta sauces! This isn’t what I would call a weeknight dish, however, as you do need to simmer this delicious sauce for up to an hour or more for it to reach its perfect stage. It is worth it though, trust me. It’s very delicious, rich and moreish!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Dean Edward’s

Beef Ragu Pasta

Serves: 4, Prep: 10-15 mins, Cook: Up to 1.5hrs

Ingredients

  • olive oil for cooking
  • 500g beef mince
  • 2 onions, diced
  • 4 garlic gloves, crushed
  • 100g pancetta, cubed
  • 300ml red wine
  • 800g chopped tomato, tinned
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree/paste
  • 300ml gluten free beef stock
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • Small pinch sugar
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 300g gluten free pasta

Method

  1. Heat a large saucepan, add a dash of the olive oil, and then pop in the onion, garlic and pancetta. Cook until the onion is browned.
  2. Add the mince, and brown.
  3. Add the red wine, and cook until liquid has reduced by half.
  4. Add the tomatoes, tomato puree, stock and oregano and mix well.
  5. Bring the sauce up to the boil, then reduce, cover, and simmer for up to 1hr, or until the liquid has reduced and sauce has thickened.
  6. Season with salt, pepper – to taste, and a pinch of sugar.
  7. When the ragu is almost there, with about 10 or so minutes to go. Cook the pasta as per the intersections on the packet, and then serve with ragu sauce.
16 thoughts on “Beef Ragu Pasta (GF)

  1. All the best to your resolutions Nell. Two amazing ways to keep fit. Home cooked meals are always more nutritious than the takeaways. The dish looks very comforting.

    Like

  2. Nell, you are the second one who brought something with Ragu at the party (Jamie brought Lamb Ragu). And I am glad you did because I just can’t enough of them. Thank you and I might make seconds. 😀 Happy FF & enjoy your weekend! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

