Cupcakes and Muffins · Gluten-Free

Fruit Mince Muffins

fruit mince muffins

Hello, hello, hello – and MERRY CHRISTMAS! I hope everyone had a happy and safe christmas day, and that they were surrounded with loved ones, good food and good cheer! I had a lovely, relaxing christmas day with delicious food – and delicious Moscato, and we watched some great movies and generally had a nice time. I managed to get in a bike ride for the first time since Magpie season began yesterday morning, and I think I may be safe to travel closer to the larger gumtrees in our area now. A few magpies eyed me suspiciously as I went underneath their streetlight perches but none swooped me. So as soon as the weather clears I’m looking forward to going out for a ride again!

I was extremely fortunate that one of my colleagues is a good food enthusiast, and that he was willing and able to spare me a rather generous helping of his homemade fruit mince! I have really struggled to find fruit mince this year, as most of the bottles of it were rare – and/or contained copious amounts of gluten. However, my colleague was able to give me two large jars of theirs which were boozy, delish, an completely gluten free!

Needless to say there’s less than a mouthful or two left after I got into them for baking. So I thought for those people with leftover fruit mince, what’s to be done! Some suggestions are to use it to stuff baked apples, to make strudel, to put into puff pastry scrolls and so on. But I fully encourage everybody to give these fruit mince muffins a go. These are deceptively simple to make, but very nice and flavoursome, and make a great way to use up leftover fruit mince!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS AND HAPPY FF!

Adapted from Delicious Magazines’

Fruit Mince Muffins

Makes: 7-8, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 300g gluten free plain flour
  • 75g brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 250g fruit mince
  • 300ml buttermilk
  • 75ml milk
  • 4 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • Icing sugar, to dust

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C (you may need to lower the temp for fan-forced), and grease a muffin pan. If using stand-alone baking cups lightly spray them with oil.
  2. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, bi-carb and the salt in a bowl. Add the cinnamon, and mix to combine.
  3. Add the fruit mince and the nuts and mix thoroughly.
  4. In a seperate bowl combine the buttermilk, milk, oil, and egg.
  5. Fold into the dry ingredients until just combined.
  6. Fill the holes in the muffin pan about 3/4 full and bake in the oven for 20-25 mins or until cooked through.
  7. Set aside to cool, and dust with icing sugar before serving.
25 thoughts on “Fruit Mince Muffins

Leave a Reply

