Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Gingerbread Folk (GF)

Hello, hello, hello! Christmas is right around the corner now and that means that all of us who celebrate it are beginning t0 panic get prepared for Christmas cooking! For me there is one particular kind of biscuit that speaks to me of Christmas. Ever since I was little I loved Gingerbread cookies. I loved it even more when we would make Gingerbread houses!

I haven’t had a chance to make a Gingerbread house in a long, long time. But I’m hoping that next Christmas, when I have things a little more planned out, I will be able to make one. I’d like it even more if I could make it a get together thing to do with a friend! So for now I have settled for some delicious Gingerbread Folk.

I was surprised to find that the Australian Women’s Weekly recipes didn’t quite do it for me. In terms of flavour, spot on. But the texture wasn’t what I was looking for. So I went a-hunting, and I stumbled across this delectable recipe! I changed the spices around, to suit our tastes, and I was quite pleased with how it turned out!

Happy FF!

Adapted from My Fat Me Ania’s
Gingerbread Cookies
Makes: up to 20, Prep: 30 mins, Cook: 8-10 mins
Ingredients
  • 500g gluten free plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 3 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp gluten baking powder
  • 100g brown sugar/coconut sugar
  • 150g coconut nectar/honey/molasses
  • 125g salted butter

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C fan-forced and line two baking sheets with baking paper.
  2. Melt the coconut nectar or substitute with the butter and sugar in a saucepan over low heat.
  3. In another bowl, combine the dried ingredients. Add in the melted butter mixture and stir, and then add in the two eggs and mix until the dough forms.
  4. NOTE: The author mentioned, if the dough is too dry add water/milk, if the dough is too dry, add more flour.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and roll out to 4mm thickness.
  6. Cut out your cookies, placing them on the trays. Re-roll the scraps and repeat.
  7. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes, and then let cool on the tray.
  8. Decorate if desired.

 

16 thoughts on “Gingerbread Folk (GF)

  1. I love these gingerbread men. Brings back memories of when I was a little girl …watching my mom make them was always fun, and then eating them, of course! 🙂 I have a gingerbread tin but have never used it. I think I need to try this recipe 🙂

    Like

  2. You are doing an awesome job Nell. Preparing well in advance for the holidays. I still can’t get my mind off those yummy scrolls and we have another treat ready right here. Have fun and enjoy dear!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

