Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Pumpkin, olive, fetta and sundried tomato muffins (GF)

pulled pork 2

Hello, hello, hello! It’s been a hectic week and weekend, and is at last slowing down! Yesterday was the hens night for my good friend Emma, and as her maid of honour I was determined to make it a good one. I was so thrilled to see all her friends coming along to the high tea part of the event, having fun with all the games. I know my sides still hurt from laughing over one game in particular! Who would have thought newspaper dresses could be so hilarious! But the rest of me is sore in general, as the last part of the hen’s night was an amazingly fun salsa dance class. I had an absolute blast, and Emma looked stunning!

Now. I have seen this all-things-pumpkin-craze sweep across the internet several times before. But I have never been all that keen to take part. I have eaten pumpkin pie and the like before and it made me gag a bit. Unfortunately I couldn’t come to love the texture of the filling! But I decided to see if I couldn’t make something that would convince me to become a pumpkin fan. I faced the initial challenge of pumpkin puree not being available where I live. But after I whipped some up at home it was into the recipes I went!

I tried pumpkin scones, but the results were less than impressive, and it wasn’t just a lack of a sweet tooth on my part either. I had a few taste testers who also weren’t all that impressed. It got me thinking about how we eat pumpkin here, and the fact that for me it’s never been paired with desserts or sweet treats with all that much success. So I decided that to make the perfect pumpkin snack for me, I would need to go with something savoury. I then stumbled across this recipe from I Quit Sugar.

pumpkin cupcakes 1

First of all. I quit sugar is an amazing website. It has a tonne of great recipes and for the few of those that come from outside sources, the website does link to their blogs or websites. I’ve found a some new cooks and bakers to investigate because of this! But this recipe is what impressed me the most. I adapted it to be gluten-free and it worked a treat. I also added different herbs and ingredients to give it more flavour and texture. These muffins are seriously good, especially when warmed up and slathered with nuttelex or butter.

I added more liquid to the recipe as it didn’t seem smooth or wet enough to be using the gluten-free flour. Feel free to go in the other direction and reduce the flour rather than upping the liquid. But I think the extra lactose free milk added a nice creaminess. I also chose to use lactose free milk as the lactose in the feta would be enough for me. So feel free to use regular milk if that’s not such a problem for you. I also didn’t use bacon as we had none on hand, but feel free to toss some cooked bacon in as well.

Happy FF!

Adapted from I Quit sugar’s

Pumpkin + goat’s cheese muffins with bacon sprinkles

Makes: 12, Prep: 25 mins, Cook: 25 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups gluten free plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup lactose free milk, or regular milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree *
  • 100g feta, crumbled
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup black olives, diced
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp mixed dried herb

*Note: I made the pumpkin puree by peeling, and dicing a large pumpkin into cubes, then boiling it for 20 minutes or until soft, and blending it. You can freeze any leftover puree.

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 170C, fan-forced. Grease a 12 hole patty pan, or line with patty pans and spray the inside of the patty pans.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl, and set aside.
  3. Combine the wet ingredients, leaving about half to a quarter of the milk aside.
  4. Combine the wet and dry ingredients, and add the remaining milk as needed. You might not need the whole amount to make the batter smooth.
  5. Using a cookie dough/ice-cream scoop, scoop the batter into the muffin pan.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out with nothing but a few moist crumbs.
  7. Remove from pan, and stand on a wire rack.
  8. Serve warm, with butter or margarine.
31 thoughts on “Pumpkin, olive, fetta and sundried tomato muffins (GF)

    1. Thank you. 🙂 and often I’m pretty busy, which is why I’m not able to post on the Friday itself anymore. So generally I add my link to the link page a day or two after my post goes up. 🙂 I’ve added it to the link up as of this morning.

      Like

    1. Thank Laura. 🙂

      I was pretty lucky and managed to buy mine before the prices went up. But I’m thinking next time I’ll buy them from ALDI if Coles and Woolies are still too high.

      But prices on fruit and veg in the ACT seem to be hit and miss. And despite having lived here my whole life I’m still no good at predicting the specials.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

