Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Strawberries and Cream Ice Blocks (GF, DF)

strawberries and cream ice pop

It feels as though it’s been a long time coming, but the winter weather is over at last. We’re now into the hotter weather, and I’m so glad! The days are longer, and the weather is so nice I’ve been able to get out and have fun getting used to my new bike! It’s an upright cruiser model, and it’s been a huge improvement over my last bike, which unfortunately got crushed during that car accident I mentioned on the blog awhile back. It’s been such good weather that I’ve managed to get out and take a few little rides all last week, and one this weekend. I’m still working up my stamina, and there was a near miss involving a magpie too, but so far it’s been a lot of fun.

But the heat also means needing snacks that help to keep us cool! I have an old ice-block set, so all I needed to do was find some good recipes. When I stumbled across this one, I knew it would fresh and delicious. The main ingredients are coconut milk, and strawberries, a delicious combination. It looked really nice, and so I gave it a go.

It was lovely to be able to go to the freezer and be able to pull one of these out on a hot night. I definitely recommend giving them a go!

Happy FF!

The Coconut Mama’s

Strawberries and Cream Popsicles

Serves: 12, Prep: 10 – 15 mins, + freezing overnight

Ingredients

  • 3 cups strawberries
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp honey

Method

  1. Puree the strawberries in a blender or food processor. Add 1 tablespoon of honey and blend until combined. Set aside.
  2. In another bowl, combine the coconut milk, vanilla and remaining honey.
  3. Alternate between pouring the strawberry puree, and the coconut milk into your ice-block moulds, or plastic cups, then pop them into the freezer.
  4. Freeze for 5-8 hours, or overnight.
  5. To loosen from moulds, run them under hot water for a few moments.
30 thoughts on “Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Strawberries and Cream Ice Blocks (GF, DF)

    1. Thanks Sophie! 🙂 but please tell me more about tofutti cream cheese! I’ve seen it in a few health food places, but I wanted a taste and texture review before I bought it. How did you find it? 😀

      Like

    1. Thank you! And you have definitely got to watch out for them around this time of year! But I have to say I admire their courage, risking their lives to make sure no one gets close to their nests and their chicks. That’s dedication!

      Like

  1. I can’t imagine why we used to put up with orange cordial ice pops when a little imagination could have produced something as delicious as this. Will be dusting off my ice pop moulds soon for this recipe 🙂

    Like

    1. Ahaha! Thanks Eleanor! I’m quite jealous though, we could only ever taste cordial at other people’s houses when we were growing up! Still, not having that orange flavour hasn’t stopped orange juice from being my favourite drink! Especially with the pulp in.

      Like

      1. depends where you are in the world I guess, 15 km across the border my german neighbours have 3 ice-parlours in their town and can still be observed sitting outside now enjoying ice-cream sundaes – in the Russia too, I’ve seen people dig into ice-cream in stores when the the temperature outside was -30°c..so all depends – for me – ice-cream = summer 🙂

        Like

      2. Whooooaaaa! That’s dedication to icecream! We have some indoor places about in large shopping centres that get a bite. But cold treats definitely aren’t very popular in town once the winter cold comes in, and our winters don’t get down so low in temp! But it’s as you say. 🙂 horses for courses. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

