Custards and Mousses and Pots · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · No-Bake · Paleo · Vegan

Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Chocolate Avocado Mousse (GF, DF)

avocado chocolate mousse

Hello, hello, hello! I’m late! It’s been quite hectic over this past week or two as I’m now changing workplaces! Although I have still been cooking, and of course eating, I haven’t had the chance to write a single thing down! But I’m back, and I have another snack hack which I have been meaning to put up here for quite a long time now. It was in fact the first healthy snack I ever worked on!

Now most health food aficionados will not at all be surprised to hear about this treat which I am bringing along to this FF! There are literally thousands of variations of this recipe all across the internet! But for me, the thought of combining avocado and chocolate was unheard of. This is not just because it seems like an odd match, but because I do not like avocado. Sacrilegious, I know. But I’m not an avocado fan. I will rarely, if ever, even eat guacamole!

But I had been craving a little something, something different from my other snacks and treats. And as I had seen this trend growing in popularity I thought it would be interesting to give it a go. I had all the right tools, and the right ingredients. So I did it!

I can call myself a convert now. You would not believe how light, but filling, this mousse becomes. It’s fluffy, but somehow still quite dense, and the avocado soaks up the chocolate flavour and doesn’t at all stand out! I like having mine with a little lactose free cream and some flaked almonds, but mum recommends using dark berries as she thought the flavours worked well together.

Happy FF!

Adapted from Bruce’s

Chocolate Avocado Mousse

Serves: 1, Prep: 10-15 mins, Chill: As long as wanted

Ingredients

  • Flesh of 1 ripe avocado
  • 2-3 tbsp maple syrup
  • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 tbsp almond milk

Method

  1. In a blender or food processor, blend all ingredients until well combined and smooth.
  2. Scoop into a glass and chill until ready to serve.

 

13 thoughts on “Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Chocolate Avocado Mousse (GF, DF)

  1. Hey Nell !!! I love everything around here. First of all the new look of your blog. It looks so elegant. i love it. Then this post. The word healthier always pulls people in…especially when it comes to snacks. Just love the chocolate and avocado combination. Amazing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

