Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · gluten free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats · Vegan

Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Pistachio Ice-cream (GF, DF, Vegan)

_DSC0101

That’s right, you heard me, a healthy ice-cream. But how could ice-cream be healthy! Well, as it turns out I am rather slow in noticing this trend to make ice-cream based on frozen bananas. I think we might have done it a long, long time ago as a snack. But I had never thought about making up a proper batch until I realised I had two old bananas, which would either needed to be used or frozen, and I had some leftover pistachios that would need eating soon too. It was then that I was struck with inspiration. I remembered having read about frozen banana ice-cream, and thought that this would be a much healthier version of a naughty treat – one that wouldn’t upset allergies, or my current health trip!

I chopped the banana up and put it into the freezer overnight, the next day I did some research on recipes. There were an immense amount of recipes out there, but ones which required adding sweeteners, etc. I didn’t believe that the ice-cream would need sweetening because these bananas had almost been overripe, and so were going to be quite sweet all by themselves. I stumbled across this recipe by A Whisk and Two Wands, and I knew this one was it.

Now, my food processor really is quite small and is more designed for chopping and grinding small amounts of things. It did struggle a bit with creaming the frozen banana, but once it got going I could see what the people on internet had been raving out. It was incredible, the banana becomes smooth and icy cold and creamy, exactly like soft serve! After that I added the pistachios, a splash of almond milk, and whipped it all together. I believe that a bigger processor or a blender would do an even better job than my little processor, but I am still incredibly sold on the final product. It was sweet and creamy and soft, and the pistachio flavour was undeniable.

A great way to get that ice-cream craving what it wants, without having to eat all the bad stuff! Happy FF!

A whisk and two wand’s

Pistachio Banana “Ice cream”

Serves: 1-2, Prep: overnight freezing of bananas, 10-15 mins prep, then chill time

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup raw, unsalted pistachio nuts
  • 1 large, or two small, frozen bananas (works better if chopped and then frozen)
  • 1-2 tbsp almond milk
  • A handful of extra pistachios, either for topping or to stir through for extra texture (Optional)

Method

  1. Pop your bananas into your blender/food processor, and whiz until nice and creamy and smooth.
  2. Add the pistachios, and the almond milk as needed, and blend until completely combined.
  3. Now if you want to, you can stir through some extra pistachios for texture
  4. Otherwise, split the ice-cream between two glasses and pop them in the freezer to firm up for a moment.
  5. I like mine as soft serve so I didn’t freeze mine for more than about 15 mins, you might want yours firmer, so perhaps try about 30 mins.
  6. Serve!
19 thoughts on “Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Pistachio Ice-cream (GF, DF, Vegan)

Leave a Reply

