Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Pudding

Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Chia Seed Pudding (GF)

_DSC0075

One thing I have often struggled with in terms of attempting to be healthier is that I have constant food cravings. It’s not that I crave any particular food, it’s that I crave food in general. I want to eat all the time. I could in the past, if I weren’t watching what I was doing, eat up to eight large meals a day, plus snacks. But to be honest, being hungry all of the time is exhausting. You do run out of things to eat too. So we have done some research into foods I can eat to help me feel fuller for longer, and into what could be causing this ridiculous appetite. We have discovered a few things to work on, and I am steaming ahead! Strangely enough it appears that I have been quite dehydrated without realising it. Now we try to get me to have a drink each time I feel hungry, and the results have been pretty incredible. My appetite has halved, I feel fuller for longer, and it gives me more of a chance to be selective about what I eat.

Something that I do want to work on is healthier snacks. It can be hard to find something healthier to eat, especially when you’re craving something sweet. I have started having nuts on hand, a wider variety of fruit, and the dreaded carrot sticks. But interestingly enough, I have been recommended to eat things like Greek Yoghurt by the doctor. Typically they contain less lactose than regular yoghurts, and the doctor has advised me against cutting it out of my diet altogether. His advice was to stick to more beneficial things with lower amounts of lactose, but which have other good things for my body, and which had good fats and good proteins.

This recipe for Chia Seed Pudding ticks all the boxes. It is delicious, but also nutritious. It’s based on almond milk, chia seeds and greek yoghurt, and is served with fresh strawberries. I thought it was tangy, filling and delicious. I hadn’t realised quite how filling a simple thing like that could be! I’m planning to keep a little it of this on hand for a refreshing breakfast snack! Now the reason I call this a dessert hack is because you could eat it for dessert, or for an anytime snack. It’s so rich and creamy, and although it’s healthy it makes you feel like it’s naughty! But it’s been a great help at work, as eating it really cuts my cravings.

 

Happy FF!

Adapted from Food Network’s

Chia Seed Pudding

Serves: 4, Prep: 10-15 mins, plus overnight chilling

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup plain greek yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup, plus extra for drizzling if you need it
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 2 handfuls strawberries, hulled and chopped
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds (optional)

Method

  1. In a bowl, gently whisk together the almond milk, greek yoghurt, vanilla and salt.
  2. Whisk in the chia seeds, and then let stand for 30 mins.
  3. Stir the mixture one last time, then cover and refrigerate overnight.
  4. The next day, toss the strawberries with a little extra maple syrup – if needed, and mix them with the sliced almonds.
  5. Spoon the pudding into 4 serving glasses, top with the strawberry mixture, and serve.
26 thoughts on “Dessert Hacks and Healthier Snacks: Chia Seed Pudding (GF)

  1. I know what you mean about wanting to eat all the time. I’m one of those for sure. As far as this yogurt, the texture of chia makes me wary. Is it anything like delicious and fun tapioca? I’ve always wanted to try it in a drink, but…

    Like

    1. Hi there! I know some people do feel wary of chia, but I’ve always thought of it as teeny weeny tapioca. It does the same thing that tapioca does when popped into liquid and left to soak, but it’s much healthier for you! 🙂 You should definitely give it a go. 🙂 You might not like it, but it would be a shame not to try – as you may end up loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your version of chia seed pudding. I tried to cut back on the amount of chia seeds as a I found there were too many for my taste but then the pudding did not thicken as good. Thanks for sharing a “healthy hack” with Fiesta Friday.

    Like

    1. 🙂 Thanks. And did you mean cut back on the chai seeds in this recipe? As there is quite a lot of liquid versus a small amount of chia, I think it would be best to reduce both the liquid first if you want to add less chia seeds. Maybe half the yoghurt and the almond milk so there is much less liquid, and then only use 1/8th of a cup, or a tablespoon or two of chia?

      Like

Leave a Reply

