Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Lamb · Misc.

Middle Eastern Sausage Rolls (GF)

_DSC0019

We don’t tend to overstock on groceries in our house, as we like to avoid waste wherever possible. But over the past couple of weeks our freezers have been continuing to get more and more full – to the point that we had nowhere to store even a small punnet of frozen berries. I decided to do something with some of the bulkier bits and pieces – for example a spare bit of pork shoulder.  It was a recipe that came together out of dozens of others, and which I doubt I would be able to recreate. But it was delicious! I also saw I had a couple of packets of gluten-free puff pastry in the freezer, which take up a lot of space. I also had some leftover pistachio nuts from previous baking escapades, and I had ducked in to renew my library card and hire some more cook books. So put these together and I had Middle Eastern Sausage Rolls.

I am a little obsessed with the Australian Women’s Weekly. No recipes of theirs has ever let me down. I have even so far adapted two of their cake recipes, from a gorgeous cookbook called Baking Recipes and Secrets from our Test Kitchen, to be gluten free! So I knew these sausage rolls were going to be a big hit too! These come from another Australian Women’s Weekly Cookbook called Eat, Drink, Share. It’s quite a lovely book with lots of recipes designed to be shared. It was that book that first inspired me to try making pulled pork in the first place.

I halved the recipe and still ended up with quite a lot of delicious little sausage rolls. Mum and I ate some for afternoon tea, I shared some with our neighbours, and then we ate the rest for breakfast the next morning! These are the perfect gluten-free party food, and I’ve kept the recipe to use for the next time I do an afternoon tea! Happy FF!

Adapted from AWW’s Eat, Drink, Share

Middle Eastern Sausage Rolls

Makes: 16, Prep: 25 – 30 mins, Chill: 3hrs, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 500g lamb mince, do not use lean!
  • 1 handful shallots, chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup pistachios, roughly chopped
  • 1/8 cup middle eastern spice blend *see note
  • 1 handful coriander, chopped (Optional)
  • 2 tsps fennel seeds
  • 2-4 sheets gluten-free puff pastry (I used a brand called Simply Wize)
  • Salt, to serve

NOTE: You can make middle eastern spice blend by combining 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander, with 1/2 tsp cardamon and 1/2 tsp turmeric. Or you can use whatever blend is available at your grocery store.

Method

  1. Make sure your pastry is defrosted if using it from frozen, it can be quite a pain to have to defrost it at the last minute.
  2. Combine the lamb mince, shallots, garlic, tomato paste, breadcrumbs, pistachios, coriander – if using, the spice blend, one tsp of the fennel seeds and one egg in a large bowl. Season, then cover and refrigerate for 3 hours. This helps the flavours soak into the mince.
  3. Pre-heat the oven to 180C fan-forced, or 200C conventional, and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  4. Crack the remaining egg into a cup and whisk it gently, this will be your egg wash.
  5. Note: my pastry was small, so one sheet only made four little rolls. Larger pieces of pastry will be able to make more.
  6. Take handfuls of the mince mixture and roll them into long, thick sausages. Place these along the long side of the pastry, right up against the edges. Paint a little egg wash along the opposite end, where there seam of the sausage roll will be, and then roll the pastry tightly to enclose.
  7. Make several little scores along the length of the roll, then brush the pastry with the egg wash and sprinkle over a little salt and some of the remaining fennel seeds. Cut it into four roughly even sausage rolls, and place them on the baking sheet with the seam side down.
  8. Repeat these steps with the remaining meat and pastry.
  9. Pop your trays in the oven to bake for 20-25 mins, or until the pastry is golden brown and the mince is thoroughly cooked.
  10. Serve immediately.
22 thoughts on “Middle Eastern Sausage Rolls (GF)

  1. These look fantastic, Nell! I have the majority of the new ones and it never ceases to amaze me how good the Australian Women’s Weekly cookbooks are, and you found another great recipe here. Thanks for sharing with FF#84!

    Like

    1. Hi there! If you have any allergy friendly food stores they are often a good bet. 🙂

      There are also a very small handful of online resources: http://www.strictlyglutenfree.com, is the first one that comes to mind.
      http://www.glutenfreeshop.com.au/gluten_free_how_to_shop.aspx – is another, and I believe they ship to America as well…

      But I have done a little more research, and walmart seems to stock some gluten free pastry and pie dough, although that’s shortcrust. I have heard of other people mentioning walmart does do gluten free puff pastry, but I’m not so sure.

      Sometimes if I can’t buy, what I do is make some of these things from scratch and just keep big batches in the freezer. 🙂 Bob red mills have a puff pastry mix, and I think Ogran is another that’s available in the US.

      And this is the best known recipe for gluten-free puff pastry that I know about:

      http://glutenfreegirl.com/2010/04/gluten-free-rough-puff-pastry/

      I hope that helps. 🙂

      Like

      1. Oh my gosh! Yes, it does! Thank you so much! I am not a Walmart shopper and I’m a little shocked they would carry this! I will have to do some looking! This is amazing! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

