Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Zucchini and Bacon Fritters

_DSC0220

As I mentioned in a previous post, I found that the healthier I ate and the more I focused on excercising and such, the more I was craving things like zucchini! So naturally I did some research, and when I found a zucchini recipe I liked – I went for it! This particular recipe for zucchini and bacon fritters is just amazing. Not only is it very quick, it’s also very delicious and healthy! It’s a great way to use up old zucchini, and as it uses bacon we know it’s bound to be delicious! These fritters are so popular in our house now I have added them to the recipe box, which is where I store all the recipes which we consider to be the best and tastiest I have made. What’s great about this recipe is that it’s easy to make it in larger batches, in smaller batches, and you only require a few things to get it all together. Moreover it’s not like store bought fritters, which are so full of flour that it’s impossible to get the flavour punch from the rest of the ingredients!

We have experimented with toppings for these fritters, as well as sides. The original recipe comes with onion relish, which I decided against. I happen to love general sauces, so I use a little gluten-free barbecue sauce on mine. Yummo! Our last batch was served with a side of coleslaw as well, because mum loves her coleslaw, and dad even finished it off with some delicious vegetable curry which he had been making beside us! It was a very vegetable heavy luncheon, but I have to say I really enjoyed it. It seems like my body knows what it needs, and it’s persuading me to eat more vegetables!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Body + Soul’s

Zucchini and Bacon Fritters

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 x rashers shortcut bacon, diced
  • Ghee for cooking
  • 2 x medium sized zucchinis, grated
  • 1 x medium carrot, grated
  • About 2 – 3 Shallots, diced
  • 2 x eggs
  • 2 tbsp tapioca flour
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1 pinch pepper
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (g/f)

Method

  1. Prepare the vegetables, and combine them with all other ingredients except the bacon.
  2. In a pan, heat up some ghee and then cook the bacon pieces until nice and crisp.
  3. Add the bacon pieces to the vegetable mixture and stir through.
  4. To make the fritters, add more ghee to the pan, then scoop out up to 2 large spoonfuls of mixture and pop them into the pan. Flatten them until quite thin.
  5. Brown the fritters on both sides, then place on a plate with paper towel to drain.
  6. Repeat this step until all the mixture has been cooked.
  7. Serve with your preferred sauce or relish, or as a side dish to another meal.
20 thoughts on “Zucchini and Bacon Fritters

Leave a Reply

