Chicken · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Slow Cooker

Murgh Makhani, Butter Chicken (G/F)

_DSC0166

So begins our exploration of mains and savouries! But it should start with a bang, I think, not to mention a time-honoured classic! I picked this butter chicken recipe out of a fantastic cookbook by the Australian Women’s Weekly because it seemed so perfect for the starting main. It was simple, cheap to make, and flavoursome! Given it’s also a slow cooker recipe it seemed so suited to the sharp winter weather. At the moment it’s either raining, or pelting us with wicked bitter winds. To be honest I prefer the rain because it makes me glad to be indoors, and it’s so soothing to listen to. But when it’s cold outside it’s the perfect time to make a slow cooker recipe.

The virtue of slow cooker recipes is their set and leave nature. You have to do a few minor things to set them up, but then the slow cooker/oven will take care of the rest. You can go on and do more chores or go have fun, and after a couple of hours a delicious meal will be there – waiting to be eaten. But butter chicken, also known as Murgh Makhani, is such a classic it would be hard to pass up. It seems to have a rather interesting tale behind it as well. Although it’s invention is rather recent, able to be traced back to a man called Kundan Lal Gujral, who operated a restaurant in Dehli, India in the 1950’s, a few sources pointed out that it was ancient influences on Punjabi cuisine that allowed this sort of dish to come about. I think it’s so fascinating to know that all modern cuisines have such different sources that influenced them at one time or another, and to think of how different things would be without those influences. I also have to give a nod of great respect to Kundan Lal Gujral, if not for his skill we might not have this delicious dish in our kitchens now! If someone happens to know a bit more about this topic, please drop me a comment below. I’m eager to know more about the various cuisines in India!

And although it might not be considered authentic, I think this Women’s Weekly version is absolutely delicious. It’s rich, it’s flavoursome, but it’s not too overpowering. It’s also not too expensive to make given how far it stretches when served with rice and your preferred Indian bread. I wanted to serve mine with gluten-free garlic naan, but I was told I had created too much mess in the kitchen as it is and to stick with rice! But feel free to serve yours with whatever sides you like, and have a happy FF!

Australian Women’s Weekly’s

Butter Chicken

Prep: 15-30 mins, + 30 mins marinating time, Serves: 6-8, Cook: up to 4hrs,

Ingredients

  • 2.4kg chicken thigh cutlets, no skin
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 3/4 cup/200g Greek yoghurt
  • 5cm piece/25g piece fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 tsp garam masala
  • 45g unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil, for cooking
  • 1 medium sized brown onion, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 2/3 cups/410g tomato puree
  • 2/3 cup/160ml chicken stock (gf)
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 cinnamon quill
  • 1/3 cup/80 ml pouring cream
  • 1/3 cup/80g ricotta cheese, for serving
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed coriander leaves, for serving

Method

  1. Combine chicken, lemon juice and chilli powder in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  2. Stir yoghurt, ginger and half the garam masala into the chicken mixture.
  3. Heat butter and oil in a large frying pan. Brown chicken all over in batches.
  4. Transfer to 4.5-litre (18-cup) slow cooker.
  5. Add onion and garlic to original pan. Cook, stirring, until onion softens. Add remaining garam masala and ground spices, cook, stirring, until fragrant. Remove from heat. Stir in tomato paste, puree, stock, honey and cinnamon. Transfer to slow cooker. Cook, covered, on low for 4 hours.
  6. Once ready to serve, stir in the cream and season to taste.
  7. Spoon butter chicken into serving dishes and top with ricotta and coriander leaves. Serve with steamed basmati rice and your preferred breads.

NOTE: If you don’t have a slow cooker, after browning the chicken you can simmer it in a heavy-based saucepan on the stove top for approximately 1 hour 30 minutes or until tender

16 thoughts on “Murgh Makhani, Butter Chicken (G/F)

  1. Looks so delicious! Love to try this recipe. Hope you don’t mind but I have nominated your blog for ‘Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award’. It would be great if you have time to answer to the questions I made. Thanks

    Like

    1. Hi there, I’m not entirely sure there is a substitute. Unfortunately I haven’t seen any recipes for butter chicken that don’t use at least a little bit of yoghurt, and as I’ve always used yoghurt I don’t have any suggestions. 😦 But if the issue is dairy/lactose you might be able to replace the yoghurt with a different one? I know there’s a brand called co-yo which makes dairy free yoghurts, there are also several brands of soy and lactose free yoghurt out there. But I think you’re after that tang the natural yoghurt provides as well, and the fattiness in the liquid.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. When visiting a new curry house I always try their butter chicken as I think it’s a good measure for comparison (I’m also normally too lazy to read a new menu!). I’ve had some brilliant examples and others that should be embarrassed to be on my plate. I’ll keep this recipe until the weather turns cold in the UK -shouldn’t be too long now!

    Like

    1. Thanks. 🙂 I do something similar whenever I visit a new Chinese restaurant. Some of my favourite dishes to compare are peking style shredded beef and roast pork noodle soup. Some places do the most amazing crackling.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome to Fiesta Friday, and thanks so much for bringing along this butter chicken recipe. It looks wonderful, I know a lot of folks will love it. I couldn’t help but notice that the recipe is from the Australian Women’s Weekly magazine. When my mother in law was living in Australia, we visited, and this book caught my eye. It has been my best Indian cookbook by far (and I have a ton of Indian recipe books). I liked it so much that I asked my ma in law to send me another one, and she sent me the Thai book. Loved your presentation. Thanks again, and happy weekend!

    Like

    1. Thanks Loretta. 🙂 And you are spot on, this recipe is from the Australian Women’s Weekly people. Over the last couple of years I have fallen in love with them because of how trustworthy and well tested their recipes are. I’m so glad you have gotten such use out of their Indian book. I recently purchased a copy of their 365 main meals cookbook, and it is so comprehensive and amazing. A lot of recipes are quick and simple in there too, using shortcuts like meat pulled from store bought barbecue chickens, etc. Keep up the good work. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice to get that endorsement from you on the Australian Women’s Weekly. I’ll have to check out the 365 main meals cookbook. I like the simplicity of the recipes.

        Like

Leave a Reply

