Biscuits · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Pistachio Cookies (G/F, D/F)

_DSC0136

Out of trouble comes good fortune! It seems like ever since the car accident happened I have been having a lot more good luck when it comes to health and well being. The doctor who treated me at the hospital after the car accident ended up recommending I start taking regular pain medication, and this was the best possible advice he could have given me. For a long time now a base level of pain and discomfort has prevented me from doing a lot of different activities. It ended up being that doctors would tell me what not to do, and recommending I swim for fitness. But each time I did go swimming I experienced excruciating knee and ankle pain, and couldn’t swim more than two hundred or so meters. It also gave me quite bad headaches. But I was becoming weaker and more fragile, and it was getting to the point that I was worried  I wouldn’t be able to keep doing the things I loved because of this. But since I have started taking pain medication I have found things so much easier. It’s made a huge difference in how I move and how much more energetic I am. I was so used to a certain level of pain that I didn’t even notice it was making me so fatigued until it stopped. I now do a little workout before and after work, and I am focusing on small and achievable goals. It’s been great! I have been at it for a couple of weeks now and I feel like I’m improving. So I owe a big thanks to the doctor at Calvary Hospital. Thanks to him I am back on track to a healthier life!

_DSC0121

But flowing on from that, I have made an executive decision to cut back on the sweets for awhile. I love baking to death. It’s no doubt that I love to make up sweet treats and that I will never tire of it. But I am also finding I am liking cooking main meals more and more as I get that little bit stronger. I think it’s a sign, my body knows what it needs and it’s trying to tell me. So although I will still be cooking sweets for special occasions – such as when I go to a friend’s house for a dinner or meal, I’ll be focusing on making some savouries for awhile. I’m looking forward to it! I found not one or two, but three women’s weekly cookbooks at the nearby salvation army store! For a dollar each no less! I picked up a weeknight meals cookbook, a four ingredients or less cookbook, and a slow cooker cookbook. Fantastic! I have bookmarked some main meals that when I first saw them, I knew would be delicious. I’m looking forward to it a lot!

But these pistachio cookies are the perfect last treat to post before I get cooking on some delicious main meals. These were crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, and an absolute breeze to make. The first taste testers to have a bite of these couldn’t stop moaning and saying how amazing they were, and insisted I add them to my recipe box. I keep a recipe box of my absolute favourite go-to recipes, and this is now in there. So I thought it would be perfect to take along to Fiesta Friday!

Stephanie Eddy’s

Pistachio Cookies

Makes: Up to 18, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cup/185g peeled, unsalted pistachios
  • 1/3 cup/35g almond meal
  • 1/2 cup/105g white sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Zest of half a lemon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C (fan-forced) and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Add one cup of pistachios to the bowl of a food processor/blender and pulse until there are no pieces left bigger than a pea. Add the almond meal, sugar and salt, and pulse until the mixture is almost uniformly ground, with some slightly larger pieces of pistachios throughout.
  3. Roughly chop the remaining 1/3 cup of pistachios into pea-sized pieces either in the food processor or by hand.
  4. In a clean bowl, beat the egg whites on high for two minutes until they become foamy. Fold in the vanilla and lemon zest.
  5. Fold in ground nut mixture and chopped pistachios and keep folding until well combined.  The dough will be thick and sticky.
  6. Use a tablespoon measure to scoop out spoonfuls of the dough and roll each one into a ball. You can use wet hands to prevent the dough from sticking to your palms.
  7. Place the balls on the baking trays a few centimetres apart and press to gently flatten them. Bake for up to 15 mins, or until the bottom edges of the cookies are just starting to turn a light golden brown.
  8. The cookies will be very soft when you remove them from the oven. Either allow them to cool on the tray until firm enough to move to a cooling rack, or slide the entire sheet of baking paper off the tray and onto the cooling rack.
  9. For the best texture, allow the cookies to cool completely before serving.
24 thoughts on “Pistachio Cookies (G/F, D/F)

  1. Hi Nell! I haven’t visited in awhile and am so sorry to hear about your accident! I am so glad you are feeling and doing better. I know how it can be to not be able to do the things you love, sometimes even just the little things are an effort. Thanks to the doc you can now get life back like you want. 🙂 Your cookies look and sound amazing! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. I am so glad the pain medication is helping!
    I am also trying to cut back a bit on sugar and fat but saying that I love cookies. I am lucky to be a lousy baker but you had me at pistachio and cookies! A great addition to Fiesta Friday and I can’t wait to see what you will bring next as I am reaching for one of your delicious looking cookies 🙂

    Like

  3. Interesting to hear you’re cutting back on the sweets – I hope you’ve found a substitute to ease the cravings? I love this recipe (being a big GF and nut fan) and it’s been emailed for printing this week – when I print recipes I have a much better chance of getting around to making them!

    Like

    1. Hi Laura, luckily for me I’m not actually such a sweet tooth! I much prefer to make and share sweets than to sit and eat them myself! But I am partial to bite sized snacks, so I’ve started looking into some snacks I can make instead. So far I have whipped up a batch of chilli and parsley parmesan crisps, and they are so addictive! I’m so glad to hear that you like this recipe and have printed it! Be warned, these cookies are super addictive! But I know what you mean, I have a printout pile for special recipes I want to make sure I cook as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😀 They are very addictive. It’s a cup of grated Parmesan, a pinch or two of dried chilli flakes, and either a handful of chopped parsley or some sprinkling of dried parsley. You put mounds of that on a baking tray, flattened slightly, and bake at 180C non fanforced for up to 10 mins, or until browned and crispy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

