Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Hazelnut Praline Truffles (GF)

_DSC0488

I decided on something small but also decadent for this Fiesta Friday. I was scouting fresh recipes on the internet as nothing from the cookbooks I had on hand truly grabbed my attention and kept it. I stumbled across this particular recipe and at once knew I had to try it, not the least of which because I have bought a cheap little food processor and wanted to give it a go. The base for this recipe requires hazelnuts to be ground, then pulsed with icing sugar and chocolate to form a paste, into which is pressed a whole hazelnut, and then the whole lot is dipped in chocolate. The cold weather gave us some troubles when it came to attempting to get the chocolate for this recipe to a ‘room temperature’ that was also above rock solid and freezing, and the poor motor in the food processor overheated attempting to grind it. But after some gentle bouts in the microwave all was well!

One thing I will mention is that these truffles are very rich. I thought I was making mine quite small, especially when I ended up with quite a lot more than the original recipe suggested. I would recommend making them even smaller than I did, only just big enough to wrap around a whole hazelnut and then a bit more. Otherwise I found you were getting a few bites of a very rich, chocolate treat, which can be quite overwhelming after awhile. But overall these truffles are delicious. I would even recommend this as something to do with kids as it involves lots of rolling balls of mixture, and lots of mucking about with chocolate.

Anyway, I hope you all enjoy this recipe!

Adapted from Vogue Entertaining’s

Praline Truffles

Makes: up to 20, Prep: 30-35 mins + 2 hrs chill

Ingredients

  • 125g roasted hazelnuts
  • 80g/ 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • up to 400g dark chocolate, finely chopped (I used one without added milk to make it dairy free)
  • 60ml /1/4 cup pouring cream ( I have also been told that coconut cream or coconut milk is good, but I stuck with lactose free pouring cream.)
  • 1 pinch salt
  • OPTIONAL: 1 tsp hazelnut oil

Method

  1. Combine 75g of the hazelnuts and all of the icing sugar in a blender or processor and process until finely ground.
  2. Add 150g of the chopped dark chocolate, the hazelnut oil if using, and process until it forms a thick paste.
  3. Bring the cream up to the boil, add a pinch of salt, and then add to the chocolate nut mixture and process until smooth.
  4. Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate for 2hrs or until firm.
  5. Once firm, remove the mixture from the fridge and line a baking sheet with baking paper. Rolls teaspoonful’s of the mixture into balls, and press a hazelnut into each, rolling again to make sure the hazelnut is tucked right into the centre. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  6. Over a bowl of simmering water, melt about two thirds of the remaining chocolate. Turn the heat off, add in the remaining third and whisk until melted and smooth. The residual heat should do the trick for this.
  7. Gently dip each ball into the chocolate using forks or dipping forks, and let the excess drain. Pop them on the tray and let them set.
  8. Serve, or store at room temp for up to two weeks.
41 thoughts on “Hazelnut Praline Truffles (GF)

  1. Oh gosh these are some decadent and fancy truffles! Hazelnut and chocolate is such a classic and perfect combination, and I love the sound of the whole hazelnut nestled in the centre underneath two chocolate-y layers! And cold weather–you must be in the southern hemi as I feel like I’m melting about now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

