Awards · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Creative Blogger Award and Paleo Lemon Meringue Pie

image26

For this Fiesta Friday I wanted to do something a little different. I didn’t manage to get a photo of this recipe due to time constraints, but it was such an amazing one that I had to post it regardless! As I was puzzling over what to do, the wonderful Gluten Free Jess nominated me for the creative blogger award! I decided that the best thing to do would be to add the recipe to the award post, so that I could both thank Jess and share this delicious recipe! So thanks Jess! I’m extremely flattered, especially since I adore her blog and her versatile recipes. I love how she always makes food seem delicious and she always has a very upbeat way of writing that makes her posts a pleasure to read. So this award comes with some rules:

  1. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Share 7 things about yourself.
  3. Nominate other bloggers and let them know about their nomination.

And the seven things about me are:

  1. I am on a fitness kick at the moment, as I feel I have become too sedentary and need to push myself more before it becomes a bad habit.
  2. I have almost entirely lost my sweet tooth and now prefer bitter or savoury treats to sweet ones.
  3. I like to hide vegetables I wouldn’t normally eat in my breakfast smoothies.
  4. I own a very old cat, but I love all sorts of animals and would have far too many of them if I could afford it.
  5. I am saving for a deposit on a house.
  6. I used to be an English tutor, but when I blog or write online I never write formally. Although I find it very hard not to write formally when writing with pen and paper!
  7. I am currently re-reading some old books from when I was younger, and discovering how much darker a lot of them were than I realised at the time!

Now for the nominations! Spoon Good Illustrated Bites Reijo’s Food 10 Dag Liebe But wait – there’s more! As promised in the introduction I’m not coming to this week’s Fiesta empty handed. I’m bringing a rather amazing treat which I sort of slaved over last weekend – a paleo lemon meringue pie. Now a lot of people must be reading that and scratching their heads wondering how I could possibly make a lemon meringue pie into something paleo when at least one of the basic components required refined sugars. Well the answer comes in the form of  Paleo Patisserie, a gorgeous and somewhat extravagant cookbook aimed at bringing classic patisserie treats like tarts, pies, cakes and biscuits back into the paleo sphere. Even I was rather hesitant when I first heard about this book, as I wondered how a lot of these treats would turn out and whether I was going to get a poor imitation or not. I should never have worried. Paleo Patisserie nailed it when it came to this recipe and makes me wonder how I could ever have been so unsure! I used the shortbread tart crust, the lemon curd filling, and then used the remaining egg whites to whip up a batch of the swiss meringue to top the lemon meringue pie with. It was all straight forward and wowed the people I took it to. It’s definitely going to come in handy, as each of the main components of this treat can be used in other recipes!

Adapted from Paleo Patisserie’s

Citron Tart

Serves: 6, Prep + Cook: A couple of hours, Chill: A couple of hours

Shortbread Crust Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups/160g almond flour
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup or honey
  • 3 tbsp palm shortening or ghee, softened
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

* Yields 1 x 23 cm crust or 4 x 10cm crusts or 5 or 6 x 7.5cm crusts or 12 x mini crusts. Lemon Curd Ingredients

  • ½ cup/120 ml lemon juice
  • ½ cup/120 ml maple syrup or honey
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 2 large eggs
  • Pinch of salt
  • 6 tbsp/72 g palm shortening or ghee

* Yields about a cup Swiss Meringue Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites, at room temp
  • 3/4 cup/ 120ml Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

*Yields a couple of cups of meringue Special Equipment

  • Candy thermometer
  • Tart pan
  • Heatproof bowls

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C (Fan-forced) and grease a loose bottomed, 20-23cm tart pan with ghee or palm shortening.
  2. In a bowl combine all the shortbread crust ingredients until uniform. Collect the soft dough and wrap it in clingfilm. Pop in the freezer for 10-15 minutes or until firm enough to roll out.
  3. Once firm enough to roll out, roll the dough out between two sheets of baking paper until quite thin. I noticed my dough sunk down in the tart pan and then puffed up while baking, so don’t be afraid to make it thin. Mine was about 2-3mm thick.
  4. Pop the rolled out dough on a tray and put it in the freezer again to make sure it’s still firm – up to 5 mins. Then gently remove the top layer of baking paper and flip the dough into your tart pan. Gently press and push it into place, using any scraps or excess to cover the tears.Pop in the freezer for 10 minutes.
  5. Bake for up to 25 mins or until browned all over. Set aside in tart pan and start on the curd.
  6. In a bowl, combine the curd ingredients – bar the ghee or shortening, this you will whisk in one tablespoon at a time. Then pop this bowl over a pot of simmering water and start whisking. You will need to keep whisking the curd until it reaches about 170F on a candy thermometer, but don’t panic if it looks too thin. It will remain quite thin until it really gets up close to 170F and then it will thicken up beautifully.
  7. Strain the curd directly into the tart case and pop back in the oven for 5 mins, or until the curd has set. Set aside.
  8. Start on the swiss meringue. Combine all the meringue ingredients in a heatproof bowl, pop it over a pot of simmering water and whisk continuously until the mixture reaches about 160F on a candy thermometer. Then remove from the heat, and grab your mixer. Start on low and increase the speed to high over about 30 seconds or so, an keep whipping until the mixture is thick, glossy and completely cool. This could take quite a while if done by hand. It took me about 10 minutes using a stand mixer.
  9. Gently spoon or pipe the meringue in a ring around the outside of the pie, making sure it touches the crust so it’ll anchor there. Spoon the rest of the meringue over the pie and form gently swirls or furrows with your spoon to get that classic look.
  10. Pop the pie in the oven for a couple more minutes, just until the meringue starts to get nice and brown.
  11. Remove from the oven and allow to cool before refrigerating.
10 thoughts on “Creative Blogger Award and Paleo Lemon Meringue Pie

Leave a Reply

