Biscuits · Gluten-Free

Brown Sugar Pecan Cookies – and a farewell.

_DSC0302

It’s been a hard couple of weeks. Pete and I are no longer together. I decided to break up, although he’s a wonderful person, I knew it was the right thing to do and I still wish him all the happiness in the world. But right now that’s a hard thing to do for both him and his loved ones. His mother, one of the most incredible women I have ever met, at last lost her battle with cancer this afternoon. She was given medication to help her rest and sleep so her last few hours would be as painless as possible, and has at last passed on. But I am forever grateful that I got the chance to meet her, to experience her wicked sense of humour, and to come to respect her so much. She passed on surrounded with loved ones, all her children and her husband, and all her friends have rallied to her side throughout these last couple of weeks as well. She was a magnificent woman, and the world will be poorer for her loss.

I have been doing the things I do as comfort this week, like baking. But I have also had some incredible support both at work and outside of it. I have had some magnificent support from colleagues and friends alike, and mum and I cried together this morning. Although we all know we have to pass on sometime, it’s never that simple for the ones left behind. I have made a donation to the palliative care people who looked after Jane so well, as have two amazing friends of mine. I baked these cookies almost out of habit, something to comfort me and to remind me of all the great things I have to be grateful for. I am more fortunate than I ever knew to be so surrounded with wonderful people, and to have been able to meet Jane, and to be a part of Pete’s life. All our love goes out to them.

Jane was one of the most beautiful souls I ever knew. I will never forget her.

Adapted from Flavour Flour’s

Brown Sugar Pecan Cookies

Makes: up to 32, Prep: 25-30 mins, Cook: up to 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 285g pecans, ground
  • 100g white sugar
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 160C and line to baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Grind the pecans until no lumps remain, then combine the ground pecans with the sugar and the salt until well combined.
  3. Combine the dry mix with the egg and mix or knead until the dough is thoroughly combined.
  4. Roll up to 32 little balls of mixture and place them on the baking tray, flattening their tops gently. Bake for up to 15 mins, or until browned on top and well browned underneath.
  5. Allow to cool for a few minutes on the tray, and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.
30 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Pecan Cookies – and a farewell.

  1. Beautifully written Nell. I am sorry to hear that you have such sorrow in your life at the moment. Likewise, grieving through baking was what helped me get through similar times last year. Sending you warm and kind thoughts, Margot

    Like

Leave a Reply

