Biscuits · Gluten-Free

Pecan Shortbread (GF)

_DSC0287

Weekends are fantastic for cooking. On a weekend you can cook all those delicious, slow-cook, time-consuming meals that are impossible to do on a weeknight. Since I am now doing more or less full time hours at the office, and loving it, I decided to shift my blogging to the weekend when I have the time to think about the recipes I make and to photograph them. The same goes for the meals I’m making. It’s getting cold here so I’m looking into winter weekend recipes which I can freeze and put aside, and my thoughts are also drifting towards treats to be had either warm – or with warm drinks. I liked the look of these pecan shortbread bikkies, which can be found in Gluten-Free Classic Snacks, a book by the amazing author of the gluten-free on a shoestring blog.

_DSC0289

I love shortbread, but what I loved about this recipe – a gluten-free take on an apparently well-known american brand’s version, is that these biscuits can also be frozen! I’m in the mood for making foods which can be frozen and used for later as I mentioned, so I couldn’t help but be curious. I decided that – after put aside some marinating meat for a dinner recipe, I would give these cookies a go. I wasn’t disappointed! These are simple to make, tasty, and can be stored for later. I call that a winner!

Gluten-Free Classic Snacks’

Keebler Sandies Pecan Shortbread Cookies

Makes: 15-16 cookies, Prep: 30 mins, Cook: 19-21 mins

Ingredients

  • 245g/1 3/4 cups gluten-free plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt flakes
  • 20g/3 tbsp + 1 tsp milk powder
  • 150g/3/4 cup white sugar
  • 112g/8 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temp
  • 1 egg yolk (25g), at room temp
  • 2-4 tbsp lukewarm water
  • 85g raw/toasted pecans, finely chopped and tossed in 1 tsp cornflour

Method

  1. In a bowl, whisk together the flour, soda, salt, milk powder and sugar.
  2. Make a well in the centre and add in the butter, egg yolk and 2 tbsp of water, mixing well between each addition. Don’t be afraid to get your hands in there. Then add in the pecans.
  3. Now, to get the dough to come together add a half a teaspoon of lukewarm water at a time while kneading. Once the dough has received a consistency where it can be rolled into logs, stop adding water.
  4. I rolled my dough into three little logs, each about 1-2 inches in diameter. You then wrap them up tight in clingwrap and pop them in the fridge to chill for 10 mins.
  5. Pre-heat the oven to 160C (fan-forced) and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  6. Take out the logs and cut them into rounds up to 3/4 inch thick, and place them on the tray with some space between.
  7. Bake the shortbread biscuits for 19-21 mins, or until browned around the edges and then underneath too, and then remove. Allow to cool on the baking trays for 10 mins before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.
  8. These cookies can be stored in airtight containers for up to five days, and in the freezer for up to two months. If freezing, defrost at room temp.
17 thoughts on “Pecan Shortbread (GF)

  1. I really enjoy blogging on a weekend too because it means I can buy good-quality ingredients at the Saturday market and have time to take photos in daylight! The cookies look very tempting, thanks for sharing the recipe.

    Like

  2. I’m totally with you on shifting to the weekend to do the food blogging. Since we moved about a month ago, it takes an hour to and from work now for me, so blogging on the weekend is pretty much the only time I can do it. Those look fantastic, by the way. One of my favorite cookies.

    Like

      1. Gutting it and starting again. Everything is going apart from the gas hob (which we had to replace last year when the old one broke). This will be the third time we’ve done this, we buy wrecks and do them up. This time we’re not going to move on once it’s done. Never. Moving. Again!

        Like

      2. Phew! I don’t think I could do it either! We moved twice, once to a rental while waiting for our house to be built, and then to our new house and that was enough for me. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about your kitchen when it’s all done!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

