Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Plum Ripple Cake (GF)

_DSC0280

Another belated Fiesta Friday post! Things have been hectic this week, similar to last week, and so I wasn’t able to do much about a blog post until the last minute. Luckily for me we had guests coming this morning, and so last night I hurried to whip up a cake or a sweet treat to be presented to them, whilst also planning what I would cook for work. Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to work on a blog post for one of the other recipes I tested last week, like I mentioned in the last post. I do apologise if I got anyone’s hopes up, but unfortunately I personally haven’t been doing too well outside of work, so some things have slipped through the cracks. However, work is continuing to be fantastic. Everyone is just so nice to me, and I’m learning so much! So I’m glad I have work to keep me busy and to cheer me up.

This recipe comes from a cookbook I saw samples of online, called Cake Angels. It’s a really interesting book, and if this recipe is any indication of it’s quality then I am very impressed! Originally this recipe was both gluten and dairy free, however, being short on time and ingredients I did have to put the dairy back into it in some places. But I am still delighted with the results. I used a blood plum jam that mum had given me, instead of the original blackcurrant recommended, and I didn’t fold the cake at the end – rather I beat it to get out all the flour lumps. It baked beautifully, and became a nice, thick and moist cake! I hope to try some other samples I saved in the future!

Adapted from Cake Angel’s

Swirly Blackcurrant Cake

Serves: 8-10, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 35-45 mins

Ingredients

  • 300ml milk (original recipe used soy milk)
  • 1.5 tbsp lemon juice
  • 150g dairy free spread
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 225g gluten-free plain flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 115g plum jam
  • About 300ml of thickened cream (original recipe used dairy free cream)
  • 1 tbsp icing sugar, plus extra for dusting

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 150C fan-forced (170C conventional), and grease and line two sandwich tins with baking paper.
  2. Combine the milk/soy milk with the lemon juice and whisk, you might notice the mix curdle a little. This will be the dairy-free buttermilk.
  3. Beat together the caster sugar and dairy-free spread on high for a few minutes until the mix is light and fluffy.
  4. Then gradually add in the beaten eggs and vanilla extract, a little at a time, beating well between each addition. If the mixture separates or curdles slightly, just increase the speed on your mixer and mix until smooth.
  5. Gently mix in half the flour, baking powder and bi-carb and half the dairy-free buttermilk. and then mix in the remainder of both the dry ingredients and the milk.
  6. Pour the mixture into the two tins, smoothing their tops with the back of a spoon or spatula, and make sure both are about even. Then dot dollops of the jam across the tops of both cakes, and gently swirl them around with a skewer to achieve the ripple effect.
  7. Bake for up to 45 mins, or until a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean. If you notice your cakes browning too fast, cover their tops with foil.
  8. Let cool in the tin for five minutes, then gently run a sharp knife around their edges and tip them out onto cake racks to cool completely.
  9. To assemble.
  10. Whip the cream and the icing sugar together until firm peaks form. Spread a little more jam, a very thin layer, on the base cake. Gently spread the cream onto it, leaving room at the edges for the cream to spread once the top cake is placed on. Place the top cake on top, and dust it with icing sugar.
  11. Serve.
14 thoughts on “Plum Ripple Cake (GF)

  1. Not to worry about being later than intended. We’re just glad you could join the party. And I know your cake will be much appreciated. I have been looking for a cake like this to use up some of the excess of jams and preserves I have from last year. Swirling some into a cake and then adding more with a cream filling sounds like the perfect way to put it to good use.

    Like

Leave a Reply

