Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Apple Cupcakes – a belated Fiesta Friday post!

_DSC0266

Hello, hello, hello, hello! This post has been quite late for this Fiesta Friday. So much so that until today I thought I might not get a chance to take part this round at all! Unfortunately quite a few personal things have been happening which have meant I haven’t been able to get into the kitchen and do anything that I then had the time to blog about. It’s been a hectic past week or so!

Some wonderful things have been happening, however, which have helped keep me from getting too dispirited. I’m helping out at a different office, and have been since the start of last week. I was very nervous, hoping I would do well, but the reception I had was overwhelmingly positive. Everyone is so helpful there, and have been giving me a lot of support and guidance, allowing me to learn a lot of new things, and making sure I have help when I need it. It’s been fantastic. I’ve learned so much in such a short period of time, and I’ve been so focused and so busy the time flew! Each day brings me something new, and I’m enjoying each challenge. I am also enjoying meeting other coworkers, one of whom is the absolute goddess of cake decorating – I’m not kidding, she has my eternal admiration for her incredible skills! It’s been a blast and I can’t wait to get back there tomorrow!

I did manage to get into the kitchen this morning and went into a kind of baking frenzy! One recipe is going to be posted about in this post, but the other is being saved for this coming Fiesta Friday, so look forward to it!

I grabbed this recipe from Taste.com.au’s second gluten-free cookbook. I am still sour I waited too long to get the first and now it’s not available in stores. I thought this would be a good recipe to test because it seemed simple, delicious, would allow me to freeze the leftovers while mum and dad were off, and I was at home alone, and it required next to no ingredients! One thing I will mention is that these apple cupcakes really do seemed designed to be eaten hot, buttered, and smothered with honey. Otherwise they can be a bit plain. But that gave me a lot of ideas. If I wasn’t going to eat them hot and buttered, etc, I would love to add more mixed spices to them, some mixed chopped nuts, and perhaps even more apple! There are a lot of possibilities to explore with these cupcakes, so I would even call this a “base recipe” one which should be tampered with and experimented with. I had to do some of that myself as the mix was far too dry for my liking initially, so I added an extra egg and more milk, and was then delighted at the soft and fluffy cupcakes that were produced!

Adapted from Taste.com.au’s

Gluten-Free Apple Muffins

Makes: 12-14 cupcakes, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 330g/2.5 cups g/f self-raising flour
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Optional: Further 1 tsp mixed spice, or feel free to add some of the other sweet spices such as nutmeg, etc.
  • 155g/3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar, divided
  • 250ml/1 cup milk, plus extra to achieve the desired texture of the batter
  • 125ml/1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 small pink lady apples, one grated and one peeled and thinly sliced
  • Warmed honey and butter, to serve
  • OPTIONAL: if not using honey and butter, and not adding sliced apple on top, I would suggest adding mixed chopped nuts such as walnut and pecans to the batter, as well as sprinkling some on top.

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/160C fan-forced, and line your cupcake tins with patty pans. You may want up to 14 holes filled, as these cupcakes have quite a bit of rise to them.
  2. Combine the flour, cinnamon and spices if using, along with 140g of the brown sugar in a bowl. If using the nuts toss them through the flour mix now. Make a well in the centre.
  3. Stir in the milk, oil and eggs until just combined, and then fold through the grated apple. Divide this mix among the prepared pans.
  4. At this stage you can either top your muffins with the sliced apple and the remaining brown sugar, or go with mixed nuts and the remaining brown sugar. My preference would be the nuts.
  5. Bake for 20-25 mins, or until a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.
  6. Stand in pan for five mins, then turn out.
  7. Best served hot, with butter and honey.
10 thoughts on “Apple Cupcakes – a belated Fiesta Friday post!

  1. I could relate with you, Nell. I thought I am going to miss FF this week. I am on # 80 entry. Glad that I did manage to pull out the photos from the camera and I have already prepared a draft. I am also having a crazy week and I don’t think it will end soon. 😐

    I have not tried Apple Cupcakes yet, they always seem interesting to me. Belated happy FF, Nell. I hope you have a fab week. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

